"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

I’m Still Hanging In There!

Hello everyone!

Yes, I am still hanging in there.
Have been traveling around a little bit the past couple of months, doing a lot of shooting and experimenting with some medium format systems, both digital and film.
Certainly has been fun!

But, during that time, … I did a little boo boo while hiking in Georgia and got myself banged up quite a bit, and that has had me sitting here at home itching to get back to shooting. Yes, … sitting around doing “NOTHING” drives me absolutely up the wall!

So anyway, there will be some new stuff coming soon along with those “how did I do it” type of material.
Just give me some time to catch back up.

Hope everyone has been getting along well, and your images you have yet to create become your best ever!!

Michael

07spentleaves1a

October 19, 2009 - Posted by | abstract, art, blog, botanical, canon, composition, Digital, DSLR, Fine Art Nature Photography, flora, flowers, hiking, horticulture, landscapes, life, macro, Macro Photographer, nature, Nature Photographer, outdoors, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop | , , , , ,

20 Comments »

  1. Glad to hear you’re still alive and kicking (sort of ;)) Beautiful texture in this leaf and the photo itself reminds me of an etching. Hope to see more soon ;)

    Comment by Monique | October 19, 2009 | Reply

  2. Sorry to hear about the accident. I hope it’s nothing with lasting consequences and that you’ll be back to yourself in no time. I would love to hear more about your impressions of medium format digital; along with seeing more of your imagery.

    Comment by Roberta | October 19, 2009 | Reply

  3. I’m also sorry to hear about your accident. Hopefully there will be no complications and you’ll be able to get to shooting soon. I’m patiently waiting to see more of your new photos.

    Comment by Tomas Turecek | October 20, 2009 | Reply

  4. Michael, I’ve missed your posts and I’m sorry that you have gotten banged up, but while you are sitting around doing nothing, feel free to post away while you heal.

    Comment by lynnwiles | October 20, 2009 | Reply

  5. Hey Michael! I have missed your posts. Please update us when you can. I hope you feel better quick. I look forward to read about and look at the medium format you have been shooting.

    Comment by Darr Almeda | October 20, 2009 | Reply

  6. Thanks gang for stopping by!

    I’m just fine overall.
    Let’s just say that a chunk of red Georgia clay coming down a hillside and a mouth full of teeth don’t go together well.
    Along with that came the bruises and a badly strained back.
    What a mess!
    Still, … I’m just fine.
    (I don’t smile much though until these things get fixed!)

    The reason for the medium format testing resulted around the interests from a couple of businesses that had a strong need for imagery like my “Adagio” series.
    One wanted a existing image from that series, but the size needed got me to laughing at first, … then almost crying when I new how much money I would miss out on.
    The size of that image needed?
    They wanted that image to be the size/height of a 3 story building.
    Yeah, ….. right!
    Not enough resolution on this end.
    Still, they are all interested with some of my ideas, which then brought about this testing of some medium and large format shooting.
    I am very familiar with medium format. No problems there.
    But it was with the available lenses needed for what I was trying to accomplish that had me scratching my head. Still more testing to do on that end as well.
    Then, … there is cost.
    Buy it, … rent it?
    Would the business generated from this type of shooting be worth the investment?
    Are there any guarantees?
    Oh, … and then there is the cost for a digital back?
    Right now, and if I give it a go, … I am leaning towards trying to find a very good and used medium format film camera.
    I’ll continue to play a bit with it in my mind and hopefully come up with something soon.

    What I shot and tested with the medium format cameras the past couple of months is nothing that I care to show here in this blog.
    They were pretty much crappy shots.
    All I wanted to see was what they looked like on a top of the line monitor, and what they looked like in a huge print.
    So far, … just fine.
    It is the lenses more than anything else that I am trying to figure out. And, … they ain’t cheap neither!

    Anyway gang, … if I come up with something interesting soon with my medium format quest, I will post it here.

    Take care everyone,
    Michael

    Comment by macroartinnature | October 20, 2009 | Reply

  7. Ahh…..interesting. I recently had a similar project. Though not quite that large, it was larger than my camera could handle. The solution I came up with was to shoot it in sections and stitch together for a jumbo resolution image. Then did a little upsizing to finish off. Worked beautifully.

    Comment by Roberta | October 20, 2009 | Reply

  8. Hey Roberta,
    I did give stitching a go, with mixed results.
    Something very low to the ground and something that was level turned out okay, but when shooting something like tree leaves that had some slight movement to it, it turned out to be a hit and miss effort with stitching.
    One thing that I would need and/or should get that would make things a whole lot easier as well, is a good bubble level.

    Michael

    Comment by macroartinnature | October 20, 2009 | Reply

  9. So sorry to read about your accident. I agree that it is hard to sit around not doing much of anything. Interesting experimenting you did. A photo as big as a 3 story building? Yikes! Lovely image above.

    Comment by Anita | October 21, 2009 | Reply

  10. Glad your doing better now Michael, came close myself on a couple of mishaps but nothing that has put me down yet (knock on wood)

    Good luck on the large format, that can be a tough media to deal with, good to see you back !!

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | October 21, 2009 | Reply

  11. A beautiful image.

    So sorry to hear about your mishap. I’m glad you are on the mend and doing better.

    Comment by Laurie | October 26, 2009 | Reply

  12. Excellent composition and execution. I was wondering where you got to. Hope you’re doing much better now. Look forward to more regular posts in the days to come.

    Comment by edvatza | October 28, 2009 | Reply

  13. Thanks again everyone!
    I will get back at it soon, ….. promise!!

    Michael

    Comment by macroartinnature | October 29, 2009 | Reply

  14. I hope it’s getting better both with your health and assignments. That photo as tall as 3 story building… oh man, I don’t know what brings worse nightmares, if the fact that you need to find out how to create an image with suitable resolution, or the idea of loosing the money by declining the offer. But what a challenge!

    Comment by Tomas Turecek | November 2, 2009 | Reply

  15. Now this is a cool shot … you keep hangin’ in there and inspiring us, Michael.

    Comment by joey | November 2, 2009 | Reply

  16. Whew! I am so glad to know you are still blogging! Thank you for the update and I hope you will be back making magic again soon.

    Comment by pam | November 8, 2009 | Reply

  17. How exactly does one print an image the size of a three story building? :-)

    Welcome back.

    Comment by Mark | November 15, 2009 | Reply

  18. Michael, this is the type of image I’ve come to expect from you. A simple subject, beautifully dressed.

    Comment by Photo Buffet | November 22, 2009 | Reply

  19. True words, some unadulterated words man. Totally made my day!

    Comment by OvappyCamplop | November 25, 2009 | Reply

  20. Michael, just discovered your blog and am very impressed. Your focus on macro has led to a depth of treatment that only comes with that level of commitment. Looking forward to many more!

    Comment by bobcornelis | November 19, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

  • Meta

