"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

Your “Aminus3” Photoblog, … and other blogs

Could someone possibly tell me what is it with Aminus3 Photoblogs?
Every time I visit someone with a blog from Aminus3, it tells me that I can not leave a comment unless I enable cookies.
It does this on every single Aminus3 site!
I thought that I could go to the Aminus3 main site and enable cookies there which would cover all Aminus3 sites, … but that does not work.
There are a lot of people using Aminus3 now, many that I visit and would like to leave a comment, but I can not and will not go into my system’s preference to enable cookies on every single site.
That is crazy!

As far as Blogger, … or Blogspot?
During the past few years, I have signed up twice with them just so I could leave a comment.
Now it seems that “almost” every time I visit one of these sites, it will ask me to sign up again, … and not letting me leave a comment unless I do sign up.
This I will not do neither.

What’s up with these new blogs coming about.
Something I don’t know?
A lot of you guys I do visit, … but can’t leave any comments what so ever!

I did write for help from the Aminus3 main site, … but not a word from them.
Unfortunately, … Blogger and Blogspot I don’t trust anymore for anything!

Michael

Michael Brown – Photographer
“Macro Art In Nature” – Website

June 25, 2009 - Posted by | abstract, art, blog, botanical, canon, composition, Digital, DSLR, fauna, flora, flowers, hiking, horticulture, insects, landscapes, life, macro, nature, outdoors, paintings, photoblog, photography, photoshop, wordpress | , , , ,

18 Comments

  1. What browser are you using? In FireFox, you should be able to set an exception for *.animus3.com that should cover most of the animus3 blogs. If they’re using animus3 and a custom domain name (not sure they even allow that), then you’ll have to add the exception for the individual domain.

    Comment by marcus | June 25, 2009

  2. I have never heard of animus3 before, Michael. Personally if it isn’t WordPress or Blogger then I don’t really bother commenting though I have to admit that WordPress is easier to leave comments. Registering for anything is a pain! I think it goes to the old rule in business transactions to make the transition as friction-less as possible if you expect the consumer to follow through or return.

    Comment by Richard Wong | June 26, 2009

  3. Hi Marcus,
    I am using Firefox now, and when Aminus3 first came out, there was no problem leaving a comment for anyone.
    Now, every single one of them will ask me to enable cookies, … for every single blog!
    Really weird.

    Richard, I am getting to the point now to where I just may do like you do. Comment where it is easy to comment, and to leave the rest alone. Some of them are way to much of a P.I.T.A to leave any kind of comment at all!

    At least with WordPress, … if a potential client wants to see what I am all about, it is pretty easy to do so with WordPress.
    Not so with some of those other blogs!

    Michael

    Comment by macroartinnature | June 26, 2009

  4. I tried doing without requiring registration on my own (WP) blog but while that resulted in a lot of comments … nearly every one of them was spam :(

    I’d rather have no comments than have to spend time clearing up all the rubbish.

    Comment by Gill | June 26, 2009

  5. I’ve never heard about this from my other visitors. If you want I could ask it on the Aminus3forum?

    Comment by MoniqueSamui | June 26, 2009

  6. Hey Gill, … really like your new set up over on your site.
    That’s a cool looking WP site!

    Monique, … I sent you a private message.

    Michael

    Comment by macroartinnature | June 26, 2009

  7. Maybe it’s time to move my blogger blog. As far as I’m aware don’t all blogger comment forms have the option for just a name and url, or anonymous? Why not just use those instead? The thing I really dislike is there is no option for leaving an email address – and there are numerous times when I’ve wanted to send a personal reply back, but couldn’t.

    Comment by Roberta | June 26, 2009

  8. If there is one thing Roberta that I do not like about Blogger, or Blogspot, is that if you ever want to delete your entire blog and start something new elsewhere, Blogger/Blogspot will archive your “entire” file of images on their servers, and renaming them in the process.
    The will essentially become “orphans” and without a owner, unless you have your copyright plastered somewhere on the image.

    I deleted my Blogger blog around 4 years ago, and I still find my images here and there in Google searches, … and all images have been renamed.
    Here is one example:

    I will never use Blogger again!

    Michael

    Comment by macroartinnature | June 26, 2009

  9. Yikes – does that happen even if you are only linking to the images and not uploading to their servers? I wonder if you could write and request these be removed?

    Comment by Roberta | June 27, 2009

  10. Thanks for the nice words, Michael :)

    It might be worth you checking Tools -> Options -> Privacy in FF, just to make sure you haven’t accidentally set Animus3 as a site from which cookies aren’t accepted.

    Comment by Gill | June 27, 2009

  11. Aminus3 has worked in the past.
    Now, … it does not.
    I have checked preferences, and enabled all cookies for the site.
    Plus, others have had similar problems.

    Bottom line, … every type of blog site that I visit works.
    Aminus3 does not.
    Although I have the updated version of Firefox, if I had a older version and all other sites still works just fine, well, … let’s just say that I should not have to go around my back with my left hand to scratch my right elbow just to get some relief!!
    In other words, … I’m not going to try to make any major adjustments just to visit one particular type of blog.

    It does not happen to everyone, but it does happen quite a bit.

    Michael

    Comment by macroartinnature | June 27, 2009

  12. Roberta,
    Writing to Blogspot or Blogger for a answer is similar to trying to get rabbits to stop breeding.
    It just ain’t going to happen!

    Michael

    Comment by macroartinnature | June 27, 2009

  13. I have never hear dabout aminus3. But as far as blogspot goes, i used to be frustrated by the fact the people could not leave a comment if they aren’t registered. By changing your blog settings, you can let “anonymus” or “name/url” use leave message without them having a bloggger or blogspot account.

    Comment by Dominic Gendron | June 28, 2009

  14. Hey gang, come to find out that some of us had “Adblock Plus” installed on our systems, so we disabled that on the Aminus3 homepage and now everything seems to be just fine.

    I knew that it had to be something simple.
    It just took awhile to realize it was ABP that was causing it.

    Michael

    Comment by macroartinnature | June 28, 2009

  15. I just tried, using Safari as my browser. It would not accept my comment until I put the http:// before my url. That doesn’t sound like your problem, but could be for others. It’s a nice site.

    Comment by lynnwiles | June 28, 2009

  16. I run a concurrent blog on Am3 (identical to CaptureThisPhotography.com). I get mostly comments from other Am3 members and a few others. It makes it almost seem like a closed community. But I also try to steer people to my main site since the images are larger and higher quality there. I love the functionality of Am3 but much prefer the customization I have with my blogger based main site.

    As for having to be a member of blogger…my main site CaptureThisPhotography.com is blogger based but as far as I know you don’t need to be on blogger to comment. You just enter your info…I think some people have their comment settings set to allow only people with blogger accounts to leave comments though.

    Comment by Laurie | June 29, 2009

  17. Glad to see you figured this all out. I seem to get plenty of comments on my blogspot blog from all sorts of blogs…. I hope some folks do not have a hard time leaving comments for me. Interesting info to consider. Thanks for sharing.

    Comment by Tammie | July 3, 2009

  18. I don’t have problems with Aminus3 blogs and actually prefer to comment on them because they are so easy in comparison to Blogger and a few others. I can’t stand how many hoops you have to jump through some times- security codes, registering, etc, etc. to leave a comment. I too try to reply to everyone that visits my photoblog with a comment in return on theirs but if it is too much of a hassle then those few get skipped. The best thing about Aminus3 is that it always remembers my info even if it is a new blog I haven’t visited before and I just have to enter the crazy Captcha code to leave the comment which is another rant- why can’t they remember that I’m not a damn spam robot after I enter the Captcha code several times.

    Comment by Dan Creighton | July 14, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

  • Meta

