"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

Blue Lobelia

I am always in search of flowers that have character, … a certain look, … a certain style that I enjoy working with when creating.
The blue lobelia flower, “Lobelia erinus”, offers up an array of compositions and playful depth when photographed in a large mass.
A large mass of colorful blues mixed in with green and late evening light gave me about a hours worth of play time the other day.
The following images are a bit different than the everyday head on shots that you normally see of these little blue beauties.
So, … give them a try sometime!

© 2009 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited
Blue Lobelia Flower

_MG_6150d1wp

© 2009 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited
Blue Lobelia Flower

_MG_6127b1wp

© 2009 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited
Blue Lobelia Flower

_MG_6144a1wp

Hopefully one day I will have something to say and to write about like I use to.
The creative side in my photography is just fine, … but the creative side with my fingers and the keyboard is seriously lacking here lately. Just not much to say at all.
I think that my wife will soon try to commit me! : )

Everyone take care, and thanks for stopping by!
Michael

Michael Brown – Photographer
“Macro Art In Nature” – Website

May 13, 2009 - Posted by | abstract, art, art buyer, art consultant, blog, canon, composition, designer, Digital, DSLR, flora, flowers, hiking, horticulture, landscapes, life, macro, nature, outdoors, paintings, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop | , , , , ,

14 Comments

  1. Beautiful flowers, beautiful colours – the softness in the out of focus areas makes me think of watercolour paintings. As always, I’m inspired by your work…

    Comment by peter | May 13, 2009

  2. Fantastic work on a difficult flower to capture Michael.

    Comment by Chris/Aperture Image | May 13, 2009

  3. Very intriguing style, Michael. Soft and inviting. Very nice.

    Comment by edvatza | May 13, 2009

  4. Beautiful work Michael, I really enjoyed the top one, the splashes of color along with the main subject is amazing, great work !!

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | May 13, 2009

  5. Lovely shots. Sometimes we have to focus our creative energies. If that means the writing doesn’t happen – so be it. All the more reason to savor your images when you do post something!

    Comment by Roberta | May 14, 2009

  6. I felt very honored when I saw your comment on my blog … you’re my hero since a long time! I love all your photo’s and I would love to capture them like you do, but I fail every time. I love the first one with the touch of pink! Monique.

    Comment by Monique | May 14, 2009

  7. Maybe you are lost in your art?…an intriguing place to be. Your images are so very soothing and serene…maybe a hint of what lies in heaven? As always…I so enjoy your style, Michael.

    Comment by spookydragonfly | May 15, 2009

  8. These photos say it all! They are masterfully executed and just gorgeous.

    Comment by Laurie | May 15, 2009

  9. I know what you mean man. I have not had a lot to say either lately. Just go make those images. The words can come later.

    Comment by Mark | May 15, 2009

  10. I find the first image especially striking, the color contrast is great.

    Comment by Paul Grecian | May 16, 2009

  11. I am so glad you are back posting again! You must know that your work so eloquently speaks from your heart that you don’t need words. I always, always plant lobelia in my garden – one of my very favorites. And your lobelia photos are just beautiful. I especially like the second one – looks almost like a painting.

    Comment by Pam | May 18, 2009

  12. Hi Michael.

    Every year some of the flowers that I buy are bought specifially because their growth habits will lend themselves well to cram shooting. I find Lobelia are one of those. I also plant a lot of a Brachycome Hybrid each year. This year I planted two varieties. I am excited for them to fill in!

    Nathan

    Comment by Nathan | May 19, 2009

  13. very artistic and fantastic composition.
    Love it.

    Comment by yen | May 22, 2009

  14. Thanks again everyone!
    Michael

    Comment by macroartinnature | June 5, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

  • Meta

