"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

“Dolce” Series In Macro.

“Dolce” – meaning “In a gentle and sweet manner.”
Soft; Sweet

I started late last year and have picked it up again this spring with the “Dolce” series, … a series of images mainly using the young leaves from Japanese Maple trees.
I enjoy shooting them at certain angles, early morning light, and using the Lensbaby.
It is the softness achieved for that somewhat abstract feel within that I like, and the wonderful ability to use the Lensbaby in combination with my now famous “Cram It” method.

© 2009 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited
“Dolce” Series – #3

09dolceseries3

I admit, … that I still get a kick from seeing other individuals use my “Cram It” method, a method that has been around for a long while now.
I see if often used around various photography forums, in Google searches, and they are really using it a lot over at “Nature Photographers Online Magazine” within their flora and macro forums.
All that I did was to bring out a old method used in photography, introduce it to those who may not have been aware of it, and then I gave it a name.

Hey, … I wonder if Billy Mays could take my “Cram It” method and somehow make me a go-zillionaire?
You never know! : )

Michael

Michael Brown – Photographer
“Macro Art In Nature” – Website

May 4, 2009 - Posted by | abstract, art, art buyer, art consultant, blog, botanical, canon, composition, designer, Digital, DSLR, Fine Art Nature Photography, flora, flowers, hiking, horticulture, landscapes, life, macro, Macro Photographer, nature, Nature Photographer, outdoors, paintings, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop | , , , , ,

14 Comments

  1. That would be nice, wouldn’t it (the ga-zillionaire thing). I wonder how that worked for Michael Orton and his Orton technique? He did at least get a book out of the deal – something you might think about doing.

    Comment by Roberta | May 4, 2009

  2. Billy Mays? Hmmmm…I think he is a bit loud for your gentle style sophisticated style.

    There is such a gentle touch that comes through here.

    Comment by Laurie | May 4, 2009

  3. I don’t know Roberta about a book.
    A book called “The Cram It Method” might wind up in the adult/mature section of the bookstore instead of the art/photography section! :)
    I’m so bad!

    Laurie, … Roberta, … thanks for stopping by you two.
    Hope things are going well with you both.

    Take care,
    Michael

    Comment by macroartinnature | May 4, 2009

  4. As much as I love japanese maples, my favorite tree, I have to admit I find it difficult to create pleasing and creative images of them. This one of yours is really fantastic. I have a lensbaby, but have not used it much. Guess I need to “bone up” on the “cramming” technique.

    Comment by Bob Towery | May 4, 2009

  5. You better copyright that name fast before Nathan does !! He does some beautiful work with it, you have definitely inspired a lot of people with it.

    One of these days I am going to have to give it a try, until then I will just have to enjoy your work !!

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | May 4, 2009

  6. I am certainly one you have inspired with your shots Michael. I do love to shoot the cram method, though I always try to point people back to you as the originator. :) You have been a good teacher!

    Nathan

    Comment by Nathan Buck | May 4, 2009

  7. Lovely image!

    Maybe you could put a link to your description of the cram it method.

    Comment by Anita | May 5, 2009

  8. Thanks Anita,
    You can always go to the Search box in the sidebar, type in “cram it”, and just about every post made with the mention of that method will appear.
    This is the first post that I ever made in regards to the “Cram It” method.
    https://macroartinnature.wordpress.com/2006/01/01/cram-it/
    There are many others, … and maybe a couple with a better explanation than the original post.

    Bob, … just keep at it!
    If it is a tree, or a subject that is a favorite of yours and one that you absolutely love, … things will eventually come to you as you tune in your thoughts for a image that you want.
    It will happen, … I promise!

    Hey Bernie, … didn’t you hear that Nathan has already asked for 20% of any future profits resulting from the “Cram It” method? :)

    Nathan, … the one thing that impressed me about what you were doing over at NPN was not only the great images you were posting while using this method, but your willingness to “teach”.
    That is by far, the most rewarding thing that one could do.
    It will always come back to you in the end!

    Everyone take care, and again, … thanks for stopping by!
    Michael

    Comment by macroartinnature | May 5, 2009

  9. Michael, No wonder you’ve watermarked these beautiful pictures!

    Anyone would wish to steal these! Hope you copyright your technique soon!

    Comment by Archie | May 6, 2009

  10. Micahel, one of the aspects of your work that is special is the subtlety in the color. But also cram-it without composition and a sense of color, line, and mood is worthless. I’m not sure that the “cram-it” part is that big a deal? Your art is successful due to many other things.

    Comment by Paul Grecian | May 6, 2009

  11. Wonderful soft image.

    Comment by deceptive | May 6, 2009

  12. Ahh, you have the pastel look down to a science… or rather, an art. Pretty and evocative. Great that your’re back blogging again!

    Comment by tomwhelan | May 6, 2009

  13. I love your work, awesome photos, very artistic!

    Comment by Zing | May 7, 2009

  14. Magical images!! So beautiful soft photos!! I love!

    Comment by martineb | May 10, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

  • Meta

