"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

“Grit My Teeth” Photographer’s Rant!

Well, … come to think about it, … I don’t think that I have really ranted about anything much lately. I have been a good boy!
And, … today is April Fools Day and I did not even plan some kind of joke on any family or friends.
I had better go see my doctor for a checkup!

So, what can I gripe or rant about, and maybe not all to do with photography?
There are some things that do make me grit my teeth.

In no certain order:
1. Okay, it has now got to the point where if I am in a room full of people, and someone brings up that zillion year old question “What Is Art”?, … I will haul ass out of that room as fast as possible.

2. I have never seen a portrait of a naked and pregnant woman that is memorable. They all look the same to me!

3. The “PC” commercial that is running now, … you know, … the “I’m not cool enough to be a Mac person”, … is probably one of the most idiotic commercials to come out in a long time!
(I love the “HOT” new Hardee’s commercial though!)

4. Why on earth would a photographer like me spend big bucks to enter a major photography contest with photography categories such as Advertising, Fine Art, Editorial, Sports, Photojournalism, Portraits, Still Life, People, Architecture, Nature, etc., … when almost all of the judges are photographers or editors who deal mainly in the areas of Advertising, Editorial, Photojournalism, or they run a museum or art gallery?
You will never see a nature photographer win the absolute top prize!

5. Why would a macro photographer enter a nature photography contest when all of the judges shoot either landscapes or wildlife?

6. Why does so much of this so called “Fine Art” which shows death, misery, poverty, etc., … consistently overshadows anything with beauty?

7. When in a room full of “keep your pinky finger pointed upwards while you sip your drink and do your art speak” type of people, … why do I get the sudden urge to lean over and lick my own butt in order to get rid of that bad taste that developed in my mouth?

8. Why does a professor require that the students to buy some expensive software that the professor themselves nor the school even owns a copy of?

9. After listening to some more hilarious news this morning, … why can’t I have a job where I don’t have to pay any taxes, … or penalties?

10. When our 25th wedding anniversary comes up this July, and my wife is looking for a “happy clappy”, … will she get P’sd if I tell her our President took it?

Damn, … I finally get a couple of days off from shooting, … and I think I am going mad! : )
I see a mid-day Corona coming on!!

Michael Brown – Photographer
“Macro Art In Nature” – Website

April 1, 2009 - Posted by | abstract, art, blog, canon, composition, Digital, DSLR, fauna, flora, flowers, hiking, horticulture, insects, landscapes, life, macro, nature, outdoors, paintings, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop, Wildlife | , , , , ,

21 Comments

  1. :) I think I have to agree with most of what you say…although I have not seen that “PC” commercial…I don’t think, or I just don’t remember it. I also haven’t seen the Hardees commercial although that is probably because there are very few Hardees around here.

    Comment by Laurie | April 1, 2009

  2. Hi Laurie, … thanks for stopping by.

    You can see the Hardee’s commercial here.
    http://www.chainleader.com/article/CA6646843.html
    I guess a guy would appreciate it more though! :)

    That PC commercial can be seen here.
    http://photobusinessforum.blogspot.com/2009/03/if-you-cant-make-it-better-make-it.html

    Comment by macroartinnature | April 1, 2009

  3. […] Original post: “Grit My Teeth” Photographer’s Rant! « “Macro Art In Nature” […]

    Pingback by “Grit My Teeth” Photographer’s Rant! « “Macro Art In Nature” | April 1, 2009

  4. I was right there with you up until #7… That one might be just you…
    :^D

    – Jack

    Comment by Jack Johnson | April 1, 2009

  5. LoL!

    Yes Jack, … that’s probably just me.
    I have been to a few, … I repeat, “few”, that was quite entertaining, … somewhat educational. I enjoyed them.
    But that was years ago, and now things have changed so much that I can’t quite put a finger on it anymore.
    Those crowds seem to have lost something that I enjoyed in those past years.

    Thanks Jack for stopping by,
    Michael

    Comment by macroartinnature | April 1, 2009

  6. LOL…yeah I didn’t get that much out of the Hardees commercial…ok well maybe a little envious…I used to look just like her ya know (Ha…sure…in my dreams, no my husbands dreams.)

    LOL at the PC commercial…I think my youngest son has that same laptop as in the commercial and well he wishes he got the macbook. He “borrows” mine almost every day.

    Thanks for those links.

    Comment by Laurie | April 1, 2009

  7. About #4

    Because they are scams to get photographers money!

    I don’t like these contests either, a real contest would not require an entry fee!

    The concern would not be money but exposure of talent and creativity…

    Comment by ForestWander Nature Photography | April 2, 2009

  8. I agree with most of what you say, although I haven’t seen the commercials. I’m a bit confused on the ‘happy clappy’ comment. Please explain. Meanwhile, your new website is lovely.

    Comment by lynnwiles | April 2, 2009

  9. I always enjoy a good rant, I enjoyed yours. Your a complex guy Michael, probably makes for good art. I don’t know exactly how I feel about some of the issues, but I don’t think the Hardees commercial makes me want a burger.

    Comment by Paul Grecian | April 2, 2009

  10. Hi Lynn,

    The “happy clappy” is somewhat of a old term that describes someone who is happily jumping up and down with excitement while rapidly clapping their hands.

    So, on our 25th anniversary, I had better come up with a good “happy clappy” gift for my better half or my head just might end up on a platter!
    After putting up with me for 25 years, … I guess she deserves something nice! :)

    Thanks for stopping by Lynn,
    Michael

    Comment by macroartinnature | April 2, 2009

  11. Paul, … ol’ buddy! :)

    Man, I think sometimes that a good old rant is like a miracle health pill. Makes you feel good inside!

    That Hardee’s commercial?
    In our house, it has provided some fun.
    The wife hates the commercial, and grabs the remote when it comes on the television and hits the mute button or changes the channel as fast as she can.
    But my sons and I will grab the remote and turn up the volume, whooping and hollering as that lady eats the burger.
    I think that our good natured ribbing with each other would make a good commercial itself! LoL!

    Michael

    Comment by macroartinnature | April 2, 2009

  12. Why do any art/photography shows charge entry fees? What kind of gallery needs to charge a person just to be juried? Those things have RIP OFF written all over them; and I’ll avoid them like the plague.

    Congratulations on your upcoming anniversary. I don’t know about your wife, but I’d be happy with just a few days away to some nice quiet spot where I don’t have to cook, clean, or work. I’d rather spend some meaningful time alone than have all the bling. Of course I’d also rather have geeky tech stuff than bling too, so I might not be the typical female! ;-)

    Comment by Roberta | April 2, 2009

  13. Thanks for the nice chuckle i know what you mean about licking your ass to get the bad taste out of your mouth!

    Comment by Theo | April 3, 2009

  14. Wait till you are at a party full of art professors and they question whether photography is even art, and then they look at you and say “so your the photographer” I think they enjoy belittling people.

    And you point about fine art being so moody and dark, my wife refers too it as “desperate”, I was once told my work was too “cheery and colorful”. I told them I was sorry my life didn’t suck and I hoped things turn out better for them.

    And your point about being in a room with the pinkie patrol, that’s why I drink Wild Turkey it takes the edge off every one of these events I attend !!

    Great post !!

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | April 4, 2009

  15. So glad you are back posting!

    Numbers 1,4,5,6 ditto! And I hope never to have to be in a room full of crooked pinkie fingers!

    Comment by Pam | April 5, 2009

  16. You guys are killing me! (Especially you Bernie)
    And, I see that I am somewhat not alone on some of these issues, so maybe I’m not such a old fart after all!! :)

    Got some editing to do after yesterday’s shoot, so take care guys!

    Michael

    Comment by macroartinnature | April 5, 2009

  17. I got a good chuckle from your rantathon buddy- you’re something else (just don’t know WHAT yet) ;) speaking of something else I finally found time to visit your new website- awesome is an understatement! I’m glad you left no room for comments or I’d be there for weeks.
    you never cease to amaze me.. and that’s a good thing. All the best!

    Comment by Cindy | April 11, 2009

  18. Checkin’ in to wish you Happy Spring, Michael, and see you are in ‘top form’! :)

    Comment by joey | April 20, 2009

  19. :)

    Comment by macroartinnature | April 24, 2009

  20. Amen Michael. Nature photography gets no respect from the art establishment and nor does it get any love in the commercial market! If it ain’t a CGI-esque manipulated photo then I guess it’s considered cliche.

    Comment by Richard Wong | April 24, 2009

  21. I hadn’t visited in a while and missed this delicious rant. Now that i have found it, it made my day. Thank you.

    I have long found your photographs and your writing a source of information and inspiration, but have been distracted lately. This will teach me to not keep up. I wouldn’t want to miss out on this kind of fun.

    Comment by Anita Jesse | May 17, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

  • Meta

