"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

A “One Trick Pony” Photographer?

Well, ….. not me!

I just can’t do it anymore, … always staying with what has worked well for me over the past couple of years and what the consultants/designers are wanting.
I guess you could also say that it is this journal’s foundation as well, … those abstracts in nature dealing mainly with florals and macro floral abstract subjects, mixed in with some insect type of abstracts that everyone seemed to enjoy.
I admit, … that it was a feeling as if I were trapped into being a “one trick pony”!
So, … a “one trick pony” in the world of macro I will not become.
I will still concentrate on the world that we see less of and something that has worked well for me, but expand out a little more.
I guess that many of you have already noticed it, with less up close colorful floral abstracts and looking at a world that is a bit larger. I guess maybe you can now call it, ….. semi-macros! : )

This is something that has had me a bit bothered over the past couple of months, and I have found out that the creativity has been kicked up a notch when I did move into exploring other areas.
I’m a much calmer and more relaxed photographer because of it!

This image below was created out at the ponds near the Clemson Sandhills Research Facilities.
With the recent warming spell, the green algae has been flourishing in the shallows of the pond and holding some of the existing leaves, sticks, and other materials in place.
There are some interesting abstracts running throughout those shallow waters, and if shot at the right time of day in order to keep shadows at a minimum along with a polarizer, … one can come up with some pretty cool stuff!

© 2009 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.
09wp5516a1wp

I think that the above image is a fairly nice image, … something interesting with its color, depth, textures.
But then I took the image into Photoshop and ran a conversion, and noticed how all of those textures took on a different feel.
The image looks a bit more aged now, … somewhat worn and scratched.
After noticing this, I went back out to the ponds the following day and tried some other ideas I had.
What I got was pretty darn cool in my opinion, … and will post those later in the coming weeks.

© 2009 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.
09wp5516d1wp

Hope that everyone is doing well, … and thanks for visiting.
Michael

Michael Brown – Photographer

“Macro Art In Nature”

February 9, 2009 - Posted by | abstract, art, art buyer, art consultant, blog, canon, composition, designer, Digital, DSLR, flora, flowers, hiking, horticulture, landscapes, life, macro, nature, outdoors, paintings, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop

18 Comments

  1. I prefer the atmosphere of the filtered image Michael; fine work as always.

    Comment by Chris | February 9, 2009

  2. I love them both. I’ve noticed your expanding views but your ‘look’….your style, is still uniquely yours. The use of color and composition comes across the same way.

    Comment by Roberta | February 9, 2009

  3. You are the master! Beautiful image.

    Comment by Pam | February 10, 2009

  4. I kinda went through the same feelings last year Michael and actually forced myself to do more closeup shooting. I did pick up some experience shooting in harsh natural light by knocking it down with negative exposure compensation and bringing out the subject with a little gridded light from the flash. But in the end I realized that I like being a macro shooter, that there are so many things yet to do that I don’t need to force myself out of the MPE-65mm macro lens. Will I shoot more natural light closeups in the coming year? Sure. But I’ll wait for the good light and in the mean time I’ll continue to shoot above life size and feel good about it ;)

    Comment by Dalantech | February 10, 2009

  5. They are both excellent photos fine work I love the post work on them !!

    Comment by Philip | February 10, 2009

  6. Congratulations on breaking out of what is expected. I think experimenting and expanding one’s repertoire and style is vital to fueling one’s creativity. I love what you have done here and I’m particularly drawn to the more colorful one.

    Comment by Diane - Daily Walks | February 10, 2009

  7. First of all, very nice images.

    It is good to try changing gears every once in a while. I too have been focusing primarily on close-ups/macros and am now thinking about dusting off the 10-20 and looking for some wide angle landscapes just to shake things up a bit. Keep exploring!

    Comment by edvatza | February 10, 2009

  8. Thank you, Michael, for sharing not only your fine eye, but heartfelt heart and soul …

    Comment by joey | February 10, 2009

  9. I love the first one.. such beautiful and tender colors.. :)

    Comment by Natalie | everyday-wonders.com | February 10, 2009

  10. Beautiful images and great blog – what a find!!!

    Jason
    (wildlife artist)

    Comment by wildlifeart | February 11, 2009

  11. Hey, ….. thanks everyone!
    Yep, I do think that I need to expand out a little bit more, and that it also may help me financially as well!! :)
    (That’s a good thing!)

    And Jason, … thanks for stopping by.
    Man, looks like I need to pay you a visit more often.
    From the quick glimpse, you have some absolutely stunning material within your site!
    I will certainly be stopping by soon!!

    Thanks again everyone,
    Michael

    Comment by macroartinnature | February 11, 2009

  12. Hey Michael. Your unique vision stands out even in the “semi-macro” area. Great stuff.

    Comment by Richard Wong | February 13, 2009

  13. Hey Michael – I know I have seen some benefit from expanding my subject matter a bit – no doubt you will also!

    Comment by Mark | February 13, 2009

  14. Your images are beautiful and of the last two I think I lean a bit more to the sepia because of its sense of depth. I have extreme variations in my photography from street to close up and have been wondering how to make it appear more like the work of one person rather many i.e. I don’t have an identifiable style which might be the sign of a dilettante etc. :}

    Comment by daina | February 14, 2009

  15. Keep exploring: you are still inspirational!

    Comment by Adrian Thysse | February 26, 2009

  16. As always, Michael, your work is outstanding. I particularly like the colorful version, but they are both very beautiful. I especially appreciate this subject matter because I have been attempting to capture something similar as the ice is finally beginning to melt here too, although of course I haven’t come close to what you have done here. Bravo, and keep them coming!

    Comment by Judith Polakoff | March 11, 2009

  17. I love your work Michael. I am an amateur snapper and love close up photography but have never taken anything as good as these.

    Comment by beingmaisie | March 22, 2009

  18. Michael- Love the color image here over the toned image but both are very nice.

    Comment by Dan Creighton | March 28, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

  • Meta

