"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

“Orange Milkwort” Flowers – Using The Lensbaby

While looking through my old files, I believe this is one of the first images I ever created using the Lensbaby.
Its a simple matter of getting low to the ground, selecting the right aperture ring for the Lensbaby, and finding some compositions to work with.
Shooting through the existing foliage also is a big help!

© 2006 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.
“Orange Milkwort” – Flower

06orangemilkwort9bb1wp

I have also heard during the past couple of years, some of the negative comments about the Lensbaby.
The vast majority of that time, I learned that those comments often were coming from those individuals who never took the time to see just what it could do.

Just my mini rant for this evening!

Thanks for stopping by everyone,
Michael

Michael Brown – Photographer

“Macro Art In Nature”

December 11, 2008 - Posted by | abstract, art, blog, botanical, canon, composition, Digital, DSLR, Fine Art Nature Photography, flora, flowers, hiking, horticulture, landscapes, life, macro, Macro Photographer, nature, Nature Photographer, outdoors, paintings, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop | , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. I don’t have a problem with the Lensbaby, per se, my problem is with the inexpert way most people see to use it. In most cases the tilt-shift effect gives me a sense of motion sickness, literally nauseating me. I can’t imagine that’s the effect most people are going for. However, I have seen some phenomenal work done with tilt-shift lenses that leads me to the same conclusion as you, it’s not the lens, but the inept way it is used that makes me ill.

    I love this shot, by the way. It’s an excellent illustration of what a Lensbaby can do in the hands of a skilled user.

    Comment by marcus | December 11, 2008 | Reply

  2. Well, … maybe a bit broad, … a bit harsh of a statement and could have been worded differently.
    But still, … I think I will let it stand as it is.
    It’s really not meant for the “students of the game”, (I don’t like the term “amateur”), but for those who have been in this game for many years.
    One can sometimes see a pro who has been in a creative and/or learning funk for years by simply looking at their work, and sometimes words from another source just might give them that nudge that they need.
    There was a time where that “kick” worked for me, … and was certainly needed! :)

    I have been in a writing funk here lately, so I hope that I made some kind of sense.
    Man, … I need more coffee this morning!

    Thanks again guys,
    Michael

    Comment by macroartinnature | December 12, 2008 | Reply

  3. Nice effective use of the lensbaby.

    They seem tricky to use and it seems to me they need to be used carefully so a photo does not to seem too random. I do think it is a matter of using them effectively and creatively. My guess is there is a bit of a learning curve to using one effectively. I have not tried one myself…it is not on the top of my wish list at the moment, although I wouldn’t mind giving one a try at some point.

    Comment by Laurie | December 12, 2008 | Reply

  4. I love my lensbaby. Not saying I use it expertly though! There are a gazillion photographers around trying to make a career of it. Only a handful have what I consider true creativity. Listening to the critiques of most, especially those schooled in the photo club, would be creative suicide. There are probably a lot of pro photographers that would scoff at your work because their tastes are different. I think you made a fair point and shouldn’t have to take grief for expressing an opinion.

    Comment by Roberta | December 12, 2008 | Reply

  5. I’m just an amatuer with a simple camera, I have no idea what a Lensbaby is. I do know that you have an amazing eye to capture nature at it’s best.

    Comment by spookydragonfly | December 12, 2008 | Reply

  6. I think one of the tricks in using all these great new creative tools made available to us is separation between gimmick and vision.

    Comment by Mark | December 13, 2008 | Reply

  7. Thanks gang, … and Mark, … you really nailed it! :)

    Michael

    Comment by macroartinnature | December 16, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

  • Meta

