"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

“Brazil Agate” – 100mm Macro, Extension Tubes, & 50mm Reversed Lens.

I am starting to pile up a room full of rocks and minerals here at home, most that have been photographed, quite a few that have yet to be photographed, and some that I will be revisiting with some new ideas in mind.
Out of all those rocks and minerals, I still find myself drawn to the “agate” slabs/rocks with all of their intricate designs that move in and around the rock.

I purchased this Brazil agate that you see below because of the possibility that existed for some landscape type looking images, containing scenes that might look like some mountains, valleys, the skies, … etc.
But this is the first one that gave a bit more when I viewed it under higher magnification.
Cool stuff!
Well, … at least to me it is pretty cool stuff!

“Brazil Agate”

agate1916b

I set up the lightbox, cut on the light, set up two reflectors, placed the agate on top of the lightbox, and was a bit surprised at what I was seeing when looking through the 100mm macro, extension tubes, and the Nikkor 50mm 1.4 lens attached in reverse.
It felt somewhat like I was viewing a world underwater. A world showing movement of water over a bed of rocks. Or, it somewhat reminded me of my scuba diving days in waters where a very distinct “thermocline” existed, … hovering above the rocks below.

© 2008 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.
“Brazil Agate” – Up close

08brazilagateslab3738wp

Playing around and creating from these types of agates allows me to dream a bit, which I often will do, … then I get that urge to study it further, to ask those “how” and “why” questions from those who would know.
Educational, … and fun!

Thanks for visiting gang,
Michael

Michael Brown – Photographer

“Macro Art In Nature”

November 25, 2008 - Posted by | abstract, art, blog, canon, composition, Digital, DSLR, Fine Art Nature Photography, gems, landscapes, lapidary, life, macro, Macro Photographer, minerals, nature, Nature Photographer, outdoors, paintings, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop, rock hound, rocks, slabs | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Sigh…this is amazing. So much beauty in these and even more when viewed through your eyes with your macro expertise! Excellent!

    Comment by Laurie | November 26, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

  • Meta

