"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

Something That Has Changed In My World Of Macro.

And just what is it that has changed in my world of macro, … and changed in a dramatic way?
Well, … damn, ….. I sure do get cold real easy it seems!
I have always enjoyed shooting no matter what season I am in, but lately, I long for spring and summer to last a bit longer.
It’s true. The older you get, … the colder you get.
My feet, my head, my hands, … all seems to suffer here in South Carolina.
I often wonder if I could handle what I see photographers putting up with farther north.
I doubt it!

My youngest son and I were out in the swamps the other day on a short 6 mile hike.
It was brisk, cold, … but beautiful on this day.
I was scanning a large batch of sweet smelling and rotting fruit that had fallen to the ground from the canopy of trees, pretty much down on my stomach with the macro.
My son was about 20ft way, looking through his macro at something low to the ground.
A gust of wind arrives, coming along the ground at a nice clip and over the waters within the swamp, right towards the top of my head.
I thought I was covered well with my clothing.
I let out a fairly loud sound which sounded somewhat like a owl because that wind found a opening, right behind my head and down into the neck area.
Then I said to myself (regarding that wind), “down my back right to my crack”.
I suddenly developed chill bumps the size of silver dollars on my butt cheeks!
I had never felt a rush like that from the cold winds. Never!

But, it was the laughter from my son that echoed throughout the swamp that really caught my attention. He had heard what I said.
A father, … his son, … having a good time together out on a hike, and something happened and was said that gave this young man some uncontrollable laughter. He sounded almost like a crazy person.
It is something that was said that probably would not have had the same kind of effect with someone else, but it really hit him good. It was a memorable moment for him that brought even more laughter later that day, and even that night as he told his mom all about it. Of course, she just rolled her eyes.
I guess it was simply a father/son thing. A “man” thing.
Buddying up with those who share the same kind of passion as you is a wonderful thing.
And then sometimes there are those “cherry on top” moments that occur, such as what happened on this day.
My son had a good laugh because of his dad, and his dad’s heart was warmed over on that day by the sound of his son’s laughter.
And, … it all started from the wind.

The image below is from a season that I seem to enjoy a bit more lately as I get older.
And also, … I have now decided to ask for some super thick socks for Christmas! : )
(I’m no good anymore when my feet get real cold!)

© 2005 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.
“Swallowtail Butterfly”

05swallowtailandbush27wp1

Everyone take good care of yourself, … stay warm, … and thanks for stopping by.
Michael

Michael Brown – Photographer

“Macro Art In Nature” – Website

November 21, 2008 - Posted by | abstract, art, blog, botanical, canon, composition, Digital, DSLR, fauna, Fine Art Nature Photography, flora, flowers, hiking, horticulture, insects, landscapes, life, macro, Macro Photographer, nature, Nature Photographer, outdoors, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop, Wildlife | , , , , ,

13 Comments »

  1. Your story warmed my heart. So happy that the little guy is still up to photographing and glued to hid dad.

    You take care, you hear?

    Big hugs,

    Fabs and Al

    Comment by Fabs Forns | November 21, 2008 | Reply

  2. I had to laugh, thanks for the chuckle! I’m right there with you on the colder as you get older factor! I’m from Ohio, our cabin and woods are covered in white, with frigid freezing winds blowing, just check out my last post! Now, don’t you feel warmer?! Beautiful butterfly capture and I hope Santa comes through on those socks.

    Comment by spookydragonfly | November 22, 2008 | Reply

  3. A wonderful story!! I do envy you that your son enjoys your passion as much as you do and you get to share with him. I look forward to hearing more stories like this.

    I think we all can relate to the older and colder. I’m finding it harder this year, especially since cold weather arrived much earlier, to get motivated to go outside without a lot of preparation to stay warm, but still function well with the cameras.

    Comment by michelleharbour | November 22, 2008 | Reply

  4. A great story for memories made with you and your son. I too find the cold bothering me more now that I am older. I usually layer like crazy and stay close to the car in such times. Heavy socks are always a must. I am sure Santa has them on your list!

    Comment by Darlene Almeda | November 22, 2008 | Reply

  5. I can relate both to the cold and to the joy in one’s son. Getting out to take photos here in a Pennsylvania winter requires a bit of a push. And, the sound of my son (19) laughing at something I’ve said is pure joy!

    Comment by Anita Bower | November 22, 2008 | Reply

  6. I hear you about the cold. It just makes me more satisfied with myself when I photograph during the winter. But, yea, cold stinks. A childs hysterical laughter is one of nature’s greatest sounds. Thanks for sharing your story.

    Comment by Paul Grecian | November 22, 2008 | Reply

  7. 6 miles is a decent hike, and I don’t know if you know what cold is ..we’ve been in the single digits here lately.

    that photo makes me feel a little warmer though, thanks

    – Evan

    Comment by evan j | November 23, 2008 | Reply

  8. Great story and another great photograph!

    Comment by matthijs | November 23, 2008 | Reply

  9. What a touching story to share. Lovely image as always too. You definitely wouldn’t want to be living up here!

    Comment by Roberta | November 23, 2008 | Reply

  10. Well hello Mike, It’s been awhile since I stopped by to say hello and send great comments your way. I will be spending some time catching up on all you’ve been doing, but wanted to suggest some thermals!! I have experienced the same myself, and in my own yard. Lately the air seems colder and the wind seems stronger than it used to. I will eventually put some gloves on, but with much resistance.
    I’m glad to hear that your son is enjoying the art of macro as well. My daughter will be getting her first camera this Christmas. I cannot wait to take her out with me.
    My best to you!
    Joy

    Comment by "Neighbor" Joy | November 24, 2008 | Reply

  11. Thanks gang!

    And, … I could not wait for Christmas.
    I already have a drawer full of those very thick socks! :)

    Comment by macroartinnature | November 25, 2008 | Reply

  12. Your blog is amazing, I’ll add it to my blogroll. I hope you don’t mind. Cheers! –Rye

    Comment by rye | December 1, 2008 | Reply

  13. Great shots Michael! Will be looking forward to more postings and images from you.

    Comment by When Giants Meet | December 9, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

  • Meta

