"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

“Let It Be”

I do like a simple life.
I also like to shoot subjects that look so simple and ordinary in nature.
I also like to shoot the light as it is whenever I can.
I like to “let it be”.

The grass within this area of the marsh was on the border area of some shade and darkened clouds.
The waters were washed in a somewhat hazy but bright light.
I added a polarizer which reduced some of the glare within those waters.
But by adding a polarizer, I also noticed that the surrounding waters showed a bit more and actually reduced the intriguing lines of the small waves.
I removed the polarizer, and immediately viewed something a bit different.
Vertical lines of grass in a color mix of green and black.
Horizontal patterns within the waves.
A wash of light which surrounds and gives accent to those very small waves.
I liked what I was viewing, … and decided to “let it be”.

I created from what I was actually seeing.
I wonder how many would have left the polarizer on in order to reduce some of the glare, which would please other more experienced photographers and their opinions first?
In my opinion, … many photographers listen to other individuals in forums or blogs far more often than they should, ignoring what already exists deep within themselves!

© 2008 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.
“Let It Be”

Michael Brown – Photographer

“Macro Art In Nature”

September 2, 2008 - Posted by | abstract, art, blog, botanical, canon, composition, Digital, DSLR, Fine Art Nature Photography, flora, flowers, hiking, horticulture, landscapes, life, macro, Macro Photographer, nature, Nature Photographer, outdoors, paintings, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop | , , , , ,

13 Comments »

  1. Here, here! And how many people judge a photograph based on what they are told (or what others say) rather than their emotional reaction to the image? A lot of people are scared to have their own opinions.

    Without that high contrast and competing lines you’d just have a photograph of grass in water, instead of the more graphic image you’ve created.

    Comment by Roberta | September 2, 2008 | Reply

  2. So very well said Michael. There are so many opinions from photographers that I value on the one forum that I belong to, but when it comes down to it, I have decided that I am shooting for me. I also find some VERY different opinions among the general public and among photographers.

    While I value and use all of the photographer opinions that I receive, I also like to hear those of non-photographers. I feel that the opinions have to be given equal weight.

    Thanks for your thoughts here.

    Nathan

    Comment by Nathan Buck | September 2, 2008 | Reply

  3. Bravo Michael! Unless you are shooting for a buyer, or on assignment, the only person you have to please is yourself. It took me a while to accept this. I always worried about what others would think. No more. As the song says “You can’t please everyone, so you got to please yourself.”
    Please keep posting. Your style has inspired me to attempt similar shots. Maybe someday I’ll be close.

    Comment by Peter | September 2, 2008 | Reply

  4. Thank you for your inspiration as always. You have help me on my path to find my own style. I do love this shot because it just like i was standing there its something that I’ve seen or something like what i have seen. I can almost taste the air and hear the wind and feel the cool breeze of a crisp morning. Now that’s a photo you can remember!

    Comment by Theodore | September 2, 2008 | Reply

  5. You make a very good point. Sometimes the so called “flaws” in a photo are what make it most interesting if we just choose to see it.

    This is a strong image. I love the subtle reflections on the ripples which seem to appear out of nowhere.

    Comment by Laurie | September 3, 2008 | Reply

  6. “Rules” and “consensus opinions” are made to define the standard of a “good” photo. But that’s not what we shoot for, as there is plenty of “good” photos. What makes a photo “unique” are the deviations from these canned rules and standards, which only the photographer, in the “unique” moment the photo present itself, can judge, evaluate and appropriate in a “unique” way.

    Comment by Massimo | September 3, 2008 | Reply

  7. Again, nice image.
    Best,
    Louis

    Comment by studiophototrope | September 4, 2008 | Reply

  8. Well put Sir Brown. It is actually quite amazing how many doors are thoughtlessly closed.

    Comment by Mark | September 4, 2008 | Reply

  9. Beauty is in simplicity. Also, beauty is within the art of the photographer’s soul—one’s own voice and style. I enjoyed your post and the very lovely photo.

    Comment by Anna Surface | September 6, 2008 | Reply

  10. very well said Mike- photography forums tend to lean toward the ‘cookie cutter’ genre of image making, instead of encouraging creative thinking/seeing. This image shows your own creativity is alive and well :)

    Comment by Cindy | September 14, 2008 | Reply

  11. Thanks everyone, … and thanks for stopping by!
    Michael

    Comment by macroartinnature | October 2, 2008 | Reply

  12. […] This image below is a sister image to a image I posted a while back. That image & post can be found here. “Let It Be” […]

    Pingback by LensFlare35.com, … and other stuff! « "Macro Art In Nature" | December 18, 2009 | Reply

  13. Please blog more!

    Comment by Ansie | January 1, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

  • Meta

