"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

Most Approachable Dragonflies.

Oh, I think that those who often photograph dragonflies all have their favorites, but I sometimes wonder if there is a sure fire answer to which is the most approachable of all.
For me, my vote goes to the “Halloween Pennant” dragonfly.
So many times I have been out in search of something that grabs me, and if there are dragonflies in the area, and the Halloween Pennant is in the mix, the HP will always steal the show!
I would think that existing conditions would play a big roll in why a certain dragonfly might be more approachable, such as the heat, humidity, light, food supply, water, vegetation, and more.
I was sitting in an area along side a pond here in South Carolina, and I counted 8 different types/kinds of dragonflies.
The dashers were skittish, the darners kept their distance, the skimmers acted if there was no tomorrow, … but the pennants would come right up to me, ….. and sit!
With this image below, I had so much time to create and to play.
I counted 11 Halloween Pennant dragonflies no more than 10ft from me, allowing me a whole lot of freedom.
I got up close images, and some of the more landscape type macro images that I enjoy capturing.
With the dragonfly shown here, I was allowed to shoot using two different lenses, allowed to add a flash to the camera then some without a flash, allowed to add a polarizer, allowed to remove the polarizer and add a Canon 500D diopter, allowed to use natural light then to add some light from a reflector for a comparison, … all with this Halloween Pennant never flying off from its perch, … not even once!

I wonder if something he ate put him in to some type of coma?

© 2008 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.
“Halloween Pennant” – Dragonfly

Michael Brown – Photographer

“Macro Art In Nature”

August 19, 2008 - Posted by | abstract, art, blog, botanical, canon, composition, Digital, dragonflies, dragonfly, DSLR, fauna, Fine Art Nature Photography, flora, flowers, hiking, horticulture, insects, landscapes, life, macro, Macro Photographer, nature, Nature Photographer, odonata, outdoors, paintings, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop, Wildlife | , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Mike,

    I like this image very much. The simplicity of your work always excites me, but the background in this image is especially appealing. I also think the posture of this dragonfly and it’s coloration in relation to the the soft green BG is a great combination.

    Comment by Paul Grecian | August 19, 2008 | Reply

  2. Mike i am so inspired with all you pictures but i do say the dragonfly’s are my favorite.
    “I would think that existing conditions would play a big roll in why a certain dragonfly might be more approachable, such as the heat, humidity, light, food supply, water, vegetation, and more.”
    Could i possibly pick your brain on what you think is the best time or conditions thats if you have noted any of them that is, also could you recommend a guide book or site on dragonfly identification.
    If not thats cool again i’m glad your posting again and sorry that you have the time to post (if you know what i mean) all the best. take care
    Theo

    Comment by Theodore | August 20, 2008 | Reply

  3. I’ve never seen this type of dragonfly except here on your site. It’s a beautiful one to have behave so patiently! I’ve heard that temperatures play a big part in how active a dragonfly is. Cool temps of the early morning they are usually not active – though that probably doesn’t apply to SC!

    Comment by Roberta | August 20, 2008 | Reply

  4. Indeed, I never seen them before, and their wings pattern are quite striking. This one was quite a model, it seems.

    Comment by Massimo | August 21, 2008 | Reply

  5. Hey, … thanks gang for the kind comments!

    Theo, … usually I find “most” dragonflies more approachable earlier in the day.
    It has not warmed up very much at that time, and you can get in a bit closer to them and to work with them.
    From mid day on, they all are pretty much active in the heat and with only a few types of dragonflies that will settle down a few moments for you to get something with your camera. These “halloween pennants” will settle down almost at anytime of the day it seems.

    As far as books, … well, … I don’t even have one myself.
    I usually rely on online methods for identification.
    I am sure there are numerous dragonfly (odonata) books available for identification purposes and more information about these dragons.
    Just Google “odonata”, and you will find numerous sites along with gallery images, scientific info, etc.

    Hope this helps! :)

    Thanks again everyone,
    Michael

    Comment by macroartinnature | August 22, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

  • Meta

