"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

Black And White Macro Photography.

No, … still nothing much to say or to write about today.
Seems that this brain of mine is simply tired!

Still, when I do have some time on my hands and I am running about on the internet to look at other photographer’s work, I have noticed that when it comes to macro photography, not many will convert their images over to black and white, … just to see if something becomes different, … something new for them to work with.

These images below were converted rather quickly as an example, not spending a whole lot of time with tones, etc.
Doing this though does help me to look at an existing image in a different kind of way, and maybe to think a little differently while out in the field.
It is something that I would encourage everyone to try on occasion.

** The second image below is a composite of the same image.

© 2006 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.

© 2006 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.

© 2006 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.

© 2005 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.

© 2006 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.

© 2006 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.

Everyone take care, … and have some fun shooting!
Michael

South Carolina

“Macro Art In Nature”

July 21, 2008 - Posted by | abstract, art, blog, botanical, canon, composition, daylily, Digital, DSLR, fauna, Fine Art Nature Photography, flora, flowers, hemerocallis, hiking, horticulture, insects, landscapes, life, macro, Macro Photographer, nature, Nature Photographer, outdoors, paintings, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop | , , , , ,

13 Comments »

  1. Michael, I will be sending you a private message later today but while I am here, I just wanted to say that our school district has adopted your blog as a place to study in our art classes.
    Three high schools used your site last year, but all schools in this district including the middle schools will be using it in the coming year.

    Now off for that PM.
    Thank you Michael,
    Fran

    Comment by Fran | July 21, 2008 | Reply

  2. Wow… I don’t normally like B&W but these work for me! I especially like the grass (?) pictures, and the composite image is a real gem! Now I feel like playing with B&W myself…

    Comment by Minna | July 21, 2008 | Reply

  3. Wow, these are really nice shots. I really like the 4th and 6th pictures – beautifully taken.

    Comment by silentremembrance | July 21, 2008 | Reply

  4. Nice work as always Michel, I myself love to play with black and white it lends itself to abstraction so well. Like one of my pieces I actually pushed it to line drawing.

    http://theodoreblackphotography.com/tbp_1/index.php?showimage=85

    if your interested

    A Fan
    theo

    Comment by Theodore | July 22, 2008 | Reply

  5. I’ve actually done quite a few macros that I converted to black and white. I LOVE black and white so it’s something I will do often.

    These are very stunning examples. Even though you did them quickly the resulting images are of astounding quality.

    Comment by Laurie | July 22, 2008 | Reply

  6. I keep coming back to them Michael. They are fantastic shots. The connection to them is quite emotional for me.

    Nathan

    Comment by Nathan Buck | July 22, 2008 | Reply

  7. Thanks, it’s a lovely insperation.

    Comment by creezy | July 26, 2008 | Reply

  8. wow that’s really awesomeee I just learn Photography ith only Nikon D60 well still amateur hehe Look at ur Picture makes me really Quite beautifull

    Btw i Love nature also
    Bless day and keep on SUccess
    Greetings from INDONESIA
    LILY

    Comment by flowerlili80 | July 30, 2008 | Reply

  9. Just goes to show that a good image has impact regardless of color. Light and form and equally as important as color.

    Comment by Roberta | July 30, 2008 | Reply

  10. Killer, killer stuff man. The grasses are particularly awesome.

    Comment by Mark | July 30, 2008 | Reply

  11. Hey Mike, nice to see posts now and then from you.
    B/W conversion brings so much more to an image. It’s true–you can create a unique moodiness with b/w that can’t be accomplished in color. Plus, isn’t it fun to experiment?

    Comment by Photo Buffet | August 4, 2008 | Reply

  12. For not spending much time, they look fantastic.
    The composite was a great idea. The depth of that image (even though synthetic) is amazing.
    The rest have amazing contrast. B&W is definitely a good idea for you.

    Comment by Richard H | August 6, 2008 | Reply

  13. Thanks everyone. Appreciate it!

    Michael

    Comment by macroartinnature | August 16, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

  • Meta

