"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

Pond Scene In Macro – “Rollick”

This is a rather simple scene, and is often easy to find along ponds, lakes, streams, … etc.
It was created using the Canon 75-300mm lens at 5.6, and simply cramming the lens right into a large batch of very thin blades of grass along the banks of the pond. I love shooting through existing foliage!
I shot this hand held as the winds were blowing slightly, and I had to often wait for a slight opening through those thin blades of grass that gave a clearer and more of a distinct view of the horizontal strand of foliage.

It was late evening, still fairly bright with a bit of haze, and I used the existing sun reflecting in the pond waters behind the buds for a spotlight.
Still, I had to make slight adjustments with levels/curves/contrast to help bring out the sun and to darken the foliage somewhat. This also created a bit more of a vignette around the edges of the image that already existed from the surrounding foliage that I was shooting through, and closest to the lens.

Images such as this are so easy to create.
But, … I think that it is a matter of composition and the flow that is most important in these types of images.
Not always one’s cup of tea I am sure, … but it certainly opens my creative spirit!

© 2008 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.
“Rollick”

Hope everyone is doing well, and thanks for visiting!
Michael

Michael Brown – Photographer

“Macro Art In Nature”

June 22, 2008 - Posted by | abstract, art, blog, botanical, canon, composition, Digital, DSLR, Fine Art Nature Photography, flora, flowers, hiking, horticulture, landscapes, life, macro, Macro Photographer, nature, Nature Photographer, outdoors, paintings, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop | , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. Everything about this shot is perfect.
    I bet you felt delighted when you saw how well it had come out.

    Comment by yesbuts | June 22, 2008 | Reply

  2. I like this Mike. And it is probably counter-intuitive to go for the lines in the background, but they work for me here.

    Comment by Mark | June 24, 2008 | Reply

  3. It’s a wonderful image, partly because it’s so unexpected. But then visual artists see things differently don’t they. I enjoy the composition and feeling in total. There are also interesting triangular shapes at the intersections of some of the lines.

    Comment by Paul Grecian | June 25, 2008 | Reply

  4. Imagine my surprise when I happen to open your Blog up and saw that you had started posting again. Bravo!!!

    Glad to see you have time again. Hope everything is going well for you & yours

    Comment by Ches Black | June 25, 2008 | Reply

  5. Hey Mike, this IS my cuppa tea. I love experimenting with that technique, also. It requires frequent lens cleaning, though!

    This is an interesting image, different than many of your pastels. I like the soft tones, and the placement of that curved blade. Kind of reminds me of a silkscreen with backlighting. Nice!

    Comment by Photo Buffet | June 25, 2008 | Reply

  6. So glad to see you’re posting your blog again. I always enjoyed reading your thought process in creating your images. This one is no exception. Love the positioning of the bloom in the sun. Thank you for sharing your creations and the means by which you arrive at them. You have made me reach for new ways of thinking and creating. Looking forward to more from you.

    Comment by beth | June 27, 2008 | Reply

  7. Wonderful and one of your most beautifull photopgraphs since I know your blog.

    Comment by creezy | July 2, 2008 | Reply

  8. Thanks everyone, … really appreciate the kind comments.

    Thanks for visiting gang,
    Michael

    Comment by macroartinnature | July 3, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

  • Meta

