"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

Some Morning Macro Photography, And Some Thoughts.

Well, not the up close and personal type of macro photography. These images are a bit more from a distance.
I did get a few of those up close and personals on this particular morning.

Without a doubt though, I love photography in the morning.
The crisp clean air, the cooler colors, sometimes with fog, sometimes no fog at all.
I love it!

But this season, I am out to try something different, … something I have never tried before.
I want to do some night time abstracts in nature.
There are many things normally not seen in macro, even more that does not show itself until the sun has completely vanished below the horizon.
I have some ideas, something of which I will share as time goes on this season, … which is just around the corner.
Actually, looks like this might be one of those seasons that we pretty much skip winter and go straight to spring!

I read on a blog the other day, a blog that escapes me so I can’t give it some credit, something about creating your own doors of opportunity.
It certainly made a lot of sense, and something which I have been doing myself.
The only difference is, that when I create my own door of opportunity, I have a tendency not to open that door, but to kick it in instead.
Some years ago, I would always be a bit hesitant about doing just about anything.
But now, I simply kick that door in, jump in with both feet, and I seem to prosper a bit more from doing so.

So, why not create your own door this season.
What have you been wanting to do, and have not done yet?
Why have you not done it yet?
What is it that you really want to create?
What’s holding you up?
Go get’em!!

These two images were created near the ponds early one morning over at the Clemson Sandhills Research Center in Columbia.
There were no winds, the waters was an absolute calm, there was no dew to speak of which was a bit strange, there was a breaking fog on the other side of the pond that was allowing streaks of sunlight onto the waters, and nature was waking up. Simply beautiful!
I was standing on a bank and shooting down into the surrounding areas, with just enough depth to keep the main subject areas sharp while the background waters were smooth and flat. I really liked the transition of light and colors on this morning.
Both images were taken without ever moving, but the second image was flipped for composition and its overall flow. Just a personal taste.
It was fun!

© 2007 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.
“Halloween Pennant”
“In Their World” Series

07dragonlandscape2wp.jpg

© 2007 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.
“Cattail”

07cattail1ee1wp.jpg

So, … that’s it for awhile.
Got some shooting and playing around on my week off, so you guys/gals take good care of yourselves, and go out and have yourselves some fun creating something new and different!
Create yourself a new door!

Michael

“Macro Art In Nature” – Website

March 4, 2008 - Posted by | abstract, art, blog, botanical, canon, composition, Digital, dragonflies, dragonfly, DSLR, fauna, Fine Art Nature Photography, flora, flowers, hiking, horticulture, insects, landscapes, life, macro, Macro Photographer, nature, Nature Photographer, odonata, outdoors, paintings, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop, Wildlife | , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Fine work as always Michael.

    Comment by Chris | March 4, 2008 | Reply

  2. Beautiful and peaceful. Especially like the cattail.

    Comment by Anita Bower | March 4, 2008 | Reply

  3. Great photos here, Thanks for sharing. I love the rock pictures, they remind me of planets. Beautiful. The lighting on the Halloween Pendant is gorgeous.

    Comment by Stacey Huston | March 11, 2008 | Reply

  4. Thanks guys!

    Comment by macroartinnature | March 11, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

  • Meta

