"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

Reverse Nikkor 50mm 1.4 Lens – Brazil Agate & Flame Agate Macro.

Now this is cool!

I managed to finish shooting a bit early the other day, and while I was out, I started to imagine what I could get within those rocks that I had on hand by reversing my old Nikkor 50mm lens and attaching it to the Canon 100mm macro lens.
I was amazed!

This first image is again, a “Flame Agate” rock, using some strong back lighting from a light box.
There are some stunning colors, shapes, and patterns that one can find and I have had some great shots coming from that large piece of rock.
But when I attached that Nikkor 50mm lens to the Canon 100mm macro, I found myself in an entirely different world.
This method helped to absorb those colors, to bring about some abstract possibilities that I had yet to see, to let me see the possibilities with creative depth, … I really had some fun!

When these rocks are sliced with a saw, I guess that there are some areas within that rock that has some air pockets.
I am not sure if that is the correct term or not, … so I’ll just say “air pockets”. (I will try to find out.)
So, the first image here of a flame agate is showing a hole, or a exposed “air pocket”, with little specks of crystal like pieces surrounding the hole.
This exposed or open area here is maybe a tad larger than the size of a pin head.

© 2008 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.
“Flame Agate” – Abstract

08flameagate50mm1wp.jpg

The second image here is of a “Brazil Agate”, using the Nikkor 50mm 1.4 lens in reverse and attached to the Canon 100mm macro.
I can easily see a type of storyline along with this image, but this time, I will let you … the viewer, to come up with your own vision and/or feelings about this one.

© 2008 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.
“Brazil Agate” – Abstract

“Ancient Landscapes” – Series
08brazilagate1abstract1wp.jpg

That’s it for now gang.
Hope that everyone is doing just fine, and I will come back in here again soon, ….. hopefully!
Thanks again,
Michael Brown

“Macro Art In Nature”

February 21, 2008 - Posted by | abstract, art, blog, canon, composition, Digital, DSLR, Fine Art Nature Photography, gems, landscapes, lapidary, life, macro, Macro Photographer, minerals, nature, Nature Photographer, outdoors, paintings, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop, rock hound, rocks, slabs | , , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. These are stunning macros – I especially love that flame agate! Did you have it lit from behind?

    Comment by eyegillian | February 21, 2008 | Reply

  2. Yes Eyegillian, .. almost all of the rock/mineral images that you see here were created using a light box. I simply set the cut slab of rock on top, cut on the light, the light shines through the rock, and start shooting.
    (Not all rocks allow this type of lighting though.)
    Sometimes I will try to balance things out buy using reflectors, etc.
    Still, I prefer to use all natural light if possible and not to use any type of flash setup.

    Thanks again for visiting,
    Michael

    Comment by macroartinnature | February 21, 2008 | Reply

  3. Amazing beauty in these Michael

    Comment by Chris | February 21, 2008 | Reply

  4. The flame agate doesn’t really do much for be but the second image! WOW! I love it, it speaks to me far more so than the other image. But that is what I love about photography, that each person will respond differently to the same photograph.

    I look forward to seeing more Michael :)

    Comment by Astrid | February 21, 2008 | Reply

  5. Like Astrid I like the second image reminds me of a sail unfurling. I is amazing how we look for pictures only to find them in our hand. Always a pleasure to view you work.

    Comment by Theodore | February 26, 2008 | Reply

  6. That’s amazing! How do you attach the two lenses?
    Both of these images are stunning. I especially like the flaming agate. The detail is so intricate.

    Comment by deb | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  7. I am so intrigued by these. They are really stunning works.

    Comment by Laurie | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  8. Michael, your images are beautiful!

    Comment by darr | March 1, 2008 | Reply

  9. Thanks again gang!

    Comment by macroartinnature | March 11, 2008 | Reply

  10. The flame agate image is interesting and a strong study of color and lines but the Brazil Agate image really grabs me. Totally stunning in it’s simplicity but also in it’s complexity as it looks like a flower abstract against the sky or who knows what if you hadn’t given the subject away. Beautiful work as usual.

    Comment by Dan Creighton | May 20, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

  • Meta

