"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

Brazil Agate, Flame Agate, & Picture Jasper. Rock Art In Macro!

Last week I finally had a bit of time on my hands, so I decided to visit a few blog journals that I had not been to in awhile.
I went over to see a old online buddy of mine “Mark Graf” and his blog, and discovered this wonderful post of his about photographing colorful rocks in macro. “Pietersite Macro Art”
I then decided to write Mark, as my youngest son Joseph and I have been fooling around with doing the same thing since last year.
Looks like we all have a touch of “rock hound” in us!

© 2008 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.
“Brazil Agate”

“Ancient Landscapes” – Series
08brazilagate2c1wp.jpg

I truly love all of the wildly beautiful lines, shapes, and patterns to be found within all of the rocks and minerals.
Lighting can be a bit touchy, depending on the cut and surface of the rock, but that is just a part of the fun while working with these little gems.
One thing that I have learned, is that I really enjoy shooting some of the more translucent type of rocks that carries a lot of color, and to use a very strong light source in the background, ….. such as a light box.

© 2008 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.
“Flame Agate”

08flameagate12b1wp.jpg

And, … getting your camera pointing downwards and the lens parallel to the flat surface of the rock can also be very tricky!
A pain in the butt actually!!

© 2008 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.
“Flame Agate”

08flameagate5b1wp.jpg

Often you can look at these rocks and minerals, and at times it is very hard to see all of the possibilities that exists as far as creating abstracts from them until you get in close.
If I go to a place that sells rocks/gems/minerals, looking for something to shoot, I will also carry with me a magnifying glass. It really helps me to see if there is something within that piece that captures my attention.

© 2008 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.
“Picture Jasper”

“Ancient Landscapes” – Series
08picturejasper6b1wp.jpg

So, if you are looking for something a bit different, … and even a bit educational, … find yourself some rocks to photograph.
Experiment, and most importantly, ….. have yourself some fun while doing it!

© 2008 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.
“Brazil Agate”

“Ancient Landscapes” – Series
08brazilagate6b1wp.jpg

Everyone take care,
Michael Brown

“Macro Art In Nature” – Website

February 15, 2008 - Posted by | abstract, art, blog, canon, composition, Digital, DSLR, Fine Art Nature Photography, gems, hiking, landscapes, lapidary, life, macro, Macro Photographer, minerals, nature, Nature Photographer, outdoors, paintings, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop, rock hound, rocks, slabs | , , , , ,

12 Comments »

  1. Wow…I’m so in awe of these. The look is alien. It seems as though some of these could have been taken in the outer reaches of the galaxy. Wonderful stuff!

    Comment by Laurie | February 15, 2008 | Reply

  2. Hi Michael. I was excited to see you had had the time to post some new pictures. You inspired me to try my hand at macro photography and I have your blog in my RRS feed listings. Very cool new photos, they remind me of stained glass. The light box +/or another good lighting technique would seem to be a necessity when trying to photographs these amazing rocks. Thanks for taking the time to posts some of these photos, now I have more things to motivate me to try.

    Comment by Denear | February 15, 2008 | Reply

  3. Wonderful images Michael

    Comment by Chris | February 15, 2008 | Reply

  4. Once again, beautifull pictures Michael. Nice to see you posting some more once again..

    Comment by Matthijs | February 15, 2008 | Reply

  5. Oh very cool Mike! you now I love your stuff, and this is nor exception! Sure miss your presence at NSN. Although I see you sneak on once in awhile :-)

    Comment by Doris J | February 15, 2008 | Reply

  6. Now, this is impressive. All of the images our wonderful. I just got my macro lens and experimented photographing ivy… not knowing what in the heck I was doing.

    I would love to try macro with rocks and minerals. I used to be a rock hound… hmm… This certainly puts a whole new perspective on rocks. Thanks for sharing this.

    Comment by Anna Surface | February 15, 2008 | Reply

  7. Hey, … thanks everyone!

    Yes, this is something that anyone can do.
    Just take your time and experiment a bit, and even though some of the rock samples that you may buy from a local dealer or maybe from a place over the internet might cost you some money, you can always resale them to other collectors after you have created your art from them.
    Sort of a “win – win” situation!

    Thanks for visiting gang,
    Michael

    Comment by macroartinnature | February 15, 2008 | Reply

  8. […] a truly unique macro photoblog, Macro Art in Nature, by Michael Brown. In his latest post about Rock Art In Macro, he describes the process and shows images of macro rock art. I was very impressed. Fabulous […]

    Pingback by Macro Rock Art « Surface & Surface Photography | February 16, 2008 | Reply

  9. Fabulous photos!

    Comment by Anita Bower | February 16, 2008 | Reply

  10. Michaek, your vision to capture these images in these minerals is excellent. Have you ever tried a Canon MP-E 65mm Macro? If you haven’t it opens up a whole new world.
    Keep on clicking,
    Mike

    Comment by Mike Colella | February 18, 2008 | Reply

  11. Thanks for the link buddy. That flame agate is just too sweet. Can’t wait to get mine.

    Comment by Mark | February 19, 2008 | Reply

  12. Thanks again everyone,
    Michael

    Comment by macroartinnature | February 21, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

  • Meta

