"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

“Banded Pennant” Dragonfly – “In Their World” Series.

This is a image of a “Banded Pennant” dragonfly, taken at the Clemson Sandhills Research Center this past weekend.
It will be included in my “In Their World” series of images that I am collecting/working on.
The left wing is in a way, cutting across the head, but I do feel that there is enough going on within the image itself that overpowers that one minor hitch.
I simply like the overall feel to this piece, … to look at a dragonfly, admiring him while he studies his world that surrounds him.
Without the spent lotus petal in the background pond water, I believe the overall feeling that I have for this piece would have been lost.

© 2007 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.
“Banded Pennant” Dragonfly

wp07dragon4itw07wp.jpg

Thanks for looking everyone!

Michael Brown – Photographer

“Macro Art In Nature”

June 19, 2007 - Posted by | abstract, art, blog, botanical, canon, composition, Digital, dragonflies, dragonfly, DSLR, fauna, Fine Art Nature Photography, flora, flowers, hiking, horticulture, insects, landscapes, life, macro, Macro Photographer, nature, Nature Photographer, odonata, outdoors, paintings, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop, Wildlife | , , , , ,

12 Comments

  1. Mike, another plus of this photo is the height of the dragonfly’s perch. The image is stripped of practically everything else, which makes your “In Their World” series so unique. I also like that you pulled back a ways. Ultra close macros are common, but this type of closeup view without being in the subject’s face does give viewers a feel for the insect’s world. I love this concept!

    Comment by Photo Buffet | June 19, 2007

  2. Clean, simple, perfect. :)

    I agree with Photo Buffet, you don’t always have to squash the insect to make a great picture.

    Comment by Maarten | June 19, 2007

  3. I agree about the lotus leaf, it really balances the image well, very nice work.

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | June 19, 2007

  4. What captivates me about this image is the reflection of the sky and how that lotus leaf almost looks like a cloud; which gives the image a feeling as if you are getting the viewpoint of a much smaller insect looking up at the dragonfly (and hoping he doesn’t think of you as lunch!).

    Comment by Roberta | June 19, 2007

  5. WOW! A very nice Image….

    Comment by Jimmy | June 19, 2007

  6. another excellent shot Mike – really shows the dragonfly “in his world” nicely :)

    Comment by david kleinert | June 20, 2007

  7. It’s beautifully minimalist and I love it !

    Comment by Michèle | June 20, 2007

  8. When I first saw this image I thought was a cloud in the background. All of the elements come together to make this a very good picture, Mike. I love it!

    Comment by charlottekings | June 20, 2007

  9. Beautiful, Mike. The lotus petal (I was wondering immediately what it was, as it caught my eye first) really does make this image what it is.

    Comment by micki | June 20, 2007

  10. The lotus petal gives this photograph incredible depth. Nice pic.

    Comment by paintingartist | June 20, 2007

  11. Thanks gang, ….. appreciate it.
    And, … thanks for stopping by!

    Comment by macroartinnature | June 20, 2007

  12. Amazing! Great image – I love it. Nice work!

    Comment by liquid06 | June 28, 2007


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

  • Meta

