"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

A Favorite Pastime – “Pushing That Envelope In Photography”

There is nothing like getting out, experimenting, playing, ….. and pushing that envelope!
This shot is of some type of plant that is hanging in and over the edge of a pond, right above the water.
I learned something that day about blown, highlighted areas, … and how I possibly can use them a bit more to my advantage, etc.
It did not take long at all to accumulate over 200 images, some of which I sent off to two of the art consultants.
A few days later, they convinced me that I need to shoot a lot more of these types of images.
“Highlights be damned” by so many individuals.
I’ll make them work for me!

With this piece, … again, … it is a matter of taste.
I did discover that quite a few like them!

© 2007 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.
“Veiled Visions”
From The “Silent Whispers” Series

wp07weedsoverpond07wp.jpg

Thanks for looking everyone!
Mike

“Macro Art In Nature” – Website

May 31, 2007 - Posted by | abstract, art, blog, botanical, canon, composition, Digital, DSLR, Fine Art Nature Photography, flora, flowers, hiking, horticulture, landscapes, life, macro, Macro Photographer, nature, Nature Photographer, outdoors, paintings, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop | , , , , ,

5 Comments

  1. Rules are to be broken. If they weren’t we wouldn’t see Monet, Picasso, Dali. What considered to be techically perfect image isn’t always eye pleasing. In the end author decides how far he can go with composition, colors etc.

    Comment by Andriy | May 31, 2007

  2. Hey Mike – this reminds me of a jellyfish for some reason. :-p

    I like this, but do admit the highlights are a bit strong for me. Maybe it is something that needs to be sipped, swirled around a bit before swallowing it up.

    Comment by Mark | May 31, 2007

  3. Just gorgeous – like all your stuff. I know that’s not a helpful critique, but it’s certainly honest!

    Comment by Christopher Scholl | May 31, 2007

  4. This has a wonderful, dreamy late summer afternoon feel and look to it. The warm colors just really do it here. Nice work, Mike.

    Comment by micki | June 1, 2007

  5. “Highlights be damned” indeed! I have been enjoying over-exposing things myself… you gotta push that envelope…

    Comment by Deina | August 27, 2007


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

  • Meta

