"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

Exploring Your Nature Photography With Digital Painting!

Painting in the system many times will help me to relax, to think, to explore those thoughts of what could be.
I can use the Wacom tablet, kick back and relax while playing with a existing image on the screen, drink a Corona, … and simply to find myself entering another world.
It even helps me with my photography while out in the field!

The first rendering is of a dragonfly that I photographed from a perch that I placed on the back porch/patio of the house.
Under that, you can see the original.
Wacom tablet, Photoshop CS, Painter, Studio Artist 3.0.

“Blue Dasher” Dragonfly – Rendering
© 2005 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.

wp06dragonfly06wp.jpg

“Blue Dasher” Dragonfly
© 2005 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.

wp05dragonflyorg05wp.jpg

The image below is another rendering created from a photograph, using the Wacom tablet, Photoshop CS, Painter, and Studio Artist 3.0.

“Flower” – Rendering
© 2005 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.

wp05flower1un05wp.jpg

I always encourage everyone to play while out in the field, to experiment, to have some fun.
But there are many times where simply sitting in front of the computer and playing around can benefit you as well.

Thanks gang for looking!
Mike

“Macro Art In Nature” – Website

May 2, 2007 - Posted by | abstract, art, blog, botanical, canon, composition, Digital, dragonflies, dragonfly, DSLR, fauna, Fine Art Nature Photography, flora, flowers, hiking, horticulture, insects, landscapes, life, macro, Macro Photographer, nature, Nature Photographer, odonata, outdoors, paintings, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop, Wildlife | , , , , ,

11 Comments

  1. These are wonderful creations. Mike! Great work!

    Comment by sil63 | May 3, 2007

  2. Excellent. I’ve looked at the Walcom tablets, but haven’t made the committment. You’re encouraging me.

    Comment by Donna | May 3, 2007

  3. Terrific adaptations! That dragonfly one especially – both the original photo and painted version are captivating.

    Comment by Roberta | May 3, 2007

  4. Both great renderings Mike. I am curious as to how much you did in the painter programs vs. Photoshop. I have some tutorials for doing similar things all within Photoshop, but have wondered what advantages some of the painter programs might offer.

    Comment by Mark | May 3, 2007

  5. We live in an amazing age, don’t we? I, too, use a pen tablet (Wacom Intuos3 6×11). It has such a natural feel, it seems disconnected from the computer.
    These are beautiful, Mike. I especially like the flower because of its placement within the frame. I can almost see it swaying in the breeze. Nice!

    Comment by Photo Buffet | May 3, 2007

  6. hey man you are really an artist.wonderful macros

    Comment by reza khalili | May 3, 2007

  7. Hey Michael, excellent work here. I really like what you did with the dragonfly.

    Comment by Mike Moats | May 3, 2007

  8. Stunning….shows the clear-cut distinction between a photographer’s picture and an artist’s image. I think you are an artist through and through. If there was any shadow of doubt about that these pictures settle it.

    Comment by Thalia | May 4, 2007

  9. Lovely effect! I especially like the yellow daisy :)

    Comment by deb | May 7, 2007

  10. Thanks gang!

    Mark, I mainly will use Photoshop for some of the detailing and contrast adjustments.
    Then I will use the paint programs for the various brush strokes, blending, textures, etc.

    Thanks again everyone,
    Mike

    Comment by macroartinnature | May 7, 2007

  11. Nice postprocessing but also very good, sharp, picture of the dragonfly.

    Comment by Elgarim | May 8, 2007


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

  • Meta

