"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

“Daylily Stamens” – (Hemerocallis) – Macro

“Daylily Stamens”
(Hemerocallis)
© 2006 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.

wp06daylilystamens1wp.jpg

If there is one flower that I can always count on to give me something interesting, whether it simply be the flower itself or a visitor within, .. it is the daylily. (Hemerocallis)

With almost any flower, those that are fresh looking in appearance that has yet to be hit with a blazing sun or has not been invaded by winged insects usually gives the best results.
This particular daylily here has always given me something that appeals to me.
It is a pale lemon yellow daylily in color, and unlike many daylilies where the pistil & stamens are sometimes a bit deeper color yellow than the flower it is sitting in, … these stamens remain the same color as the petals of the flower. A fairly nice blend.
Then with this particular flower, those “pollen sacks” that I like to call them, will not open up very early like some varieties will, and at 10:00am they are still fresh looking and do not have the pollen scattered all over the place. They have just opened!
Another plus, is that these stamen heads have a much richer black to them that shows up so well, giving a wonderful contrasting “pop” when photographed in good light.

Find a daylily, and you will find many chances to capture some wonderful compositions, … and at times, … those little visitors that sneak around within.

Canon 100mm macro & 2x teleconverter
Tripod, macro slider, 2 plamps, reflectors
0.8 sec. @ f32
ISO 200

Thanks for looking gang!
Michael Brown

(This post does not have the original “Blogger” comments, as they would not automatically transfer when the move was made to “WordPress”.)

“Macro Art In Nature”

April 25, 2007 - Posted by | abstract, art, blog, botanical, canon, composition, daylily, Digital, DSLR, Fine Art Nature Photography, flora, flowers, hemerocallis, horticulture, landscapes, life, macro, Macro Photographer, nature, Nature Photographer, outdoors, paintings, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop | , , , , ,

17 Comments

  1. Wonderful! You are an inspiration. No need to reply, or visit my blog in return either. I am having the very same problems with not having enough time, and feeling guilty!

    Comment by Roberta | April 25, 2007

  2. Absolutely stunning! I just watch and try to learn :)

    Comment by Minna | April 25, 2007

  3. Hello! Michael, Wonderful! Work as always. I always wanted to ask you what kind of reflectors do you use? (whithe, or silver) Best Regards.

    Comment by Omar | April 25, 2007

  4. Great detail and the blend of shapes and colours is ace!

    Comment by BobC | April 25, 2007

  5. I have never seen such exquisite photographs. Well done on being nominated by Thalia.

    Comment by Wildlife Gardener | April 25, 2007

  6. Mike, the curve of the stamen make this an entirely unique shot. I think we’ve all seen lots of daylily images, but none quite like this. It’s all about perspective and patience! You inspire me.

    Comment by Photo Buffet | April 25, 2007

  7. Wonderful. The pollen sacks look like littly shoes.

    Comment by Fiona | April 25, 2007

  8. I love that you can see individual grains of pollen. It’s a new way of looking at a flower I very much took for granted.

    Comment by wren | April 25, 2007

  9. I love this shot. Nature is so delicate.

    Comment by Michael Rawluk | April 26, 2007

  10. excellent. you never cease to amaze me with your talent, mike.

    Comment by sabinche | April 27, 2007

  11. Always impressive art work Michael.
    Send me an email. I talked with a gentleman who works with Columbia Convention & Visitors Bureau. They are looking for a photographer.
    BTW I took the blog down. All my photos are on Flickr.

    Comment by Marc | April 27, 2007

  12. One of the best daylily shots I have seen.

    Comment by Troy | April 27, 2007

  13. Hey you never cease to amaze me. Awsom, I don’t know how many times I have come to the site only to be amazed! Your inspiration is well inspirational. Take care and look forward to seeing more.

    Comment by Theo | April 27, 2007

  14. Wonderful detail

    Comment by 359degrees | April 28, 2007

  15. Absolutely phenomenal!

    Comment by Thalia | April 29, 2007

  16. Perfect colour combination. Yellow and black works well together. Excellent macro.

    Comment by Jeremy | April 30, 2007

  17. Thanks for the kind comments gang! Appreciate it!!

    Omar, I almost always will use the white reflectors.
    Sometimes, … maybe a gold one.

    Comment by macroartinnature | May 1, 2007


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

  • Meta

