"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

Michael Brown, Inventor Of The “Cram It” Method In Photography.

I can’t help but to get a good laugh out of all this!

I was looking at my WordPress stats the other week, and noticed quite a few hits coming from a forum over in France.
Not a large forum, as it looked like it might have been a forum for a camera club.
I noticed the link to “Macro Art In Nature”, so my curiosity got the best of me as I went to my translator to translate for me what was being said.
The whole thread was about the “Cram It” method, a technique that Michael Brown had created to create the images that can be found on his site.
Another forum that I have seen recently also had a long thread about the cram it method, a method that Michael Brown came up with.
And just yesterday, I came across another small forum where a guy asks in a thread, “Will someone kindly point me to the information on Michael Brown’s “cram it” method?” “I want to give this a try.”
Then in the same thread, someone else asked, … “I have seen the results and really like it.” “When will he start shipping out the software?”

I admit, … I get a bit tickled over this and usually start laughing!
I did not create this method, a method that has been around for ages now.
It may have been lost in the mix for awhile, when everyone in nature photography seemed to be focusing in on “details, details, details”, while seemingly ignoring anything that involved soft or soft focus images.

So again, ….. “I did not create this method!”
I may be known for giving it a name, and for all that I know, it just may already have a name that I don’t know about.
So “Michael Brown” gave it “this name”. I’ll be happy with that!

“Macro Art In Nature” – Website

April 13, 2007 - Posted by | abstract, art, blog, botanical, canon, composition, daylily, Digital, dragonflies, dragonfly, DSLR, Fine Art Nature Photography, flora, flowers, hemerocallis, horticulture, insects, landscapes, lapidary, life, macro, Macro Photographer, minerals, nature, Nature Photographer, odonata, outdoors, paintings, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop, rock hound, rocks, slabs, Wildlife | , , , , ,

23 Comments

  1. Dang, I was looking forward to the software. My dreams have officially been shattered. You should just go with the flow, and in another 20 or 30 years you’ll be in the history books for inventing macro photography.

    Comment by Brian Auer | April 13, 2007

  2. A thought.

    Al Gore said he invented the internet, and people believed it,

    so,

    hey guys, ….. I invented this!

    Ha!
    I’m finally famous!!!

    Comment by macroartinnature | April 13, 2007

  3. Michael,

    What a great story – keep them coming!

    Sherri

    Comment by Sherri Meyer | April 13, 2007

  4. Heh. I devoted my past two days’ posts to your infamous “Cramit” method :-) When you do come out with the software, book, and movie, I hope you will consider using the slightly more subtle and mysterious name “Cramit” for your methods. The two words on their own tend to remind me that it’s my turn to take out the garbage, again.

    Comment by puzzled | April 13, 2007

  5. Well, I’m waiting for the book because the movie usually disappoints! So, Mike, here’s to you: CRAM IT !!! :-)

    Comment by paul | April 13, 2007

  6. Darn,
    I was just about to put up for sale my official Michael Brown Cram it t-shirts and cram it slider. (The slider that doesn’t have any locks on it so the lens just slides forward! :-))

    Comment by Mark | April 13, 2007

  7. Hey, I need a slider anyways. It might as well be a cram it slider. That cracks me up Mark.

    Comment by Brian Auer | April 13, 2007

  8. I enjoyed reading your story!!!!
    making something popular is also an achievement …

    Comment by Intern | April 13, 2007

  9. LoL.. “cram it”…ahhh.. the things we’re given credit for…

    Comment by solphoto | April 13, 2007

  10. […] it all over the internet. The same internet that Al Gore invented! BTW, he has a funny post about that very topic. I hear that he even has software and a book and maybe even a movie coming […]

    Pingback by Paul Lester Photo » Blog Archive » Derivative work?! Cram it!!! | April 13, 2007

  11. Hey Mike. Thanks for inventing the Cram It Method. :-)

    Comment by Marc | April 14, 2007

  12. Michael you just took all the wind out of your sails by exposing this fact, what people don’t know doesn’t hurt.

    Comment by Mike Moats | April 14, 2007

  13. “When will he start shipping the software?” That line almost made me spit out my coffee laughing. Some people, oy vey, seem to always look for permission to experiment, by only trying things that have been “validated” by an “expert”. Just get out there and experiment people!

    Michael, I hope you don’t expect any patent usage fees.

    Comment by Daniel Sroka | April 14, 2007

  14. This isn’t right! I just finished preparing a camera club presentation featuring the “Michael Brown Cram It Technique”. Does this mean I have to re-write the whole thing? Dammit! :)

    Just accept it Mike. People always associate outstanding work with a particular technique or photographer. You earned it. Go with the flow.

    Comment by Troy | April 14, 2007

  15. LoL!

    Ahhh well.
    You guys certainly have made my day.
    And, … “cram it” and “slider” are two items that I will stay away from using in the same sentence.
    You kinky people!! :)

    Comment by macroartinnature | April 14, 2007

  16. To rip off Nike – just Cram it! :-)

    Need an agent?!

    Comment by Mark | April 15, 2007

  17. Well, … no more than 4% commish! :)

    Comment by macroartinnature | April 15, 2007

  18. Funny story! Thanks for regularly visiting my blog and commenting on my photos.

    Comment by Jeremy | April 15, 2007

  19. My dreams are now shattered…I may never be the same. I thought I could buy the software and be a pro within a week!
    Cought up on all the entries I missed while absent…Amazing photos as always!
    Laurie :)

    Comment by Laurie | April 18, 2007

  20. Jeremy, Laurie, … many thanks! :)

    Comment by macroartinnature | April 20, 2007

  21. Ohh thats funny Mike…lol congrats anyways ^.^

    Comment by Leisa | May 1, 2007

  22. Great story!

    Comment by Paul @ www.photographyvoter.com | June 9, 2007

  23. […] Force You To Do! 7. Adding Space To A Image In Photoshop Using The “Free Transform” Tool 8. Michael Brown, Inventor Of The “Cram It” Method In Photography. 9. A Marriage Of Macro Photography & Georgia O’Keeffe Paintings. 10. Photography In Late […]

    Pingback by Top Ten Posts From “Macro Art In Nature” Since 2005. « "Macro Art In Nature" | December 27, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

  • Meta

