"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

“Golden Poppy” – Macro Abstract

Not sure if this one has even been posted or not.
It is one that sat in my files for 3 years, never really giving me that much inspiration of any kind, but yet I kept it.
One art buyer that I am working with is very happy that I did.
Still, … it does not make me jump up and down! : )

This was created by taking the poppy from outside and bringing it indoors.
Available light was coming from a window, and a reflector was used on the opposite side of the flower.
I honestly can’t remember what I used for a background.
Camera was on a tripod and using the Canon 100mm macro and extension tube.
I simply rotated the flower by hand while looking through the viewfinder, trying to find a composition that worked.
I wanted to get at least some detail in the top portion of the stem, maybe a touch of detail within the petal area, and then simply let the rest to fall where it may.
A ever so slight hint of curves was used to darken the background just a bit more.

© 2004 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.

“Golden Poppy”

wp04poppyabstract2wp.jpg

April 11, 2007 - Posted by | abstract, art, blog, botanical, canon, composition, Digital, DSLR, fauna, Fine Art Nature Photography, flora, flowers, horticulture, landscapes, life, macro, Macro Photographer, nature, Nature Photographer, outdoors, paintings, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop | , , , , ,

18 Comments

  1. I’m glad you kept it, too. That photo is stunning!

    Comment by HeyJules | April 11, 2007

  2. Not sure why you wouldn’t have been taken it with it – the light is gorgeous and the overall image reminds me of the fluidity of well composed music.

    Comment by Roberta | April 11, 2007

  3. Michael, you’re making me believe in the ‘never delete anything’ adage! It’s very nice!

    Comment by charlottekings | April 11, 2007

  4. Gorgeous – fiery colors.

    Comment by Intern | April 11, 2007

  5. I’m glad you kept it, too. This is certainly a keeper by any standards.

    Comment by Paul | April 11, 2007

  6. I happen to like the twirling nature of this shot. I can see where it would have some appeal to the buyer. With that, I can relate to your comments. I often come across shots that I like, but not thrilled with – but discover someone else may be. So I find it to be a difficult balance between wanting to show only your favorite, or perceived best work, and showing what someone else may be interested in.

    Comment by Mark | April 11, 2007

  7. I love how the poppy fills the frame from a third of the way up. Just enough stem and dark background…perfect! This brings me to a question…are most fine art pieces framed vertically? I haven’t noticed many in a horizontal (landscape) format.

    Comment by Photo Buffet | April 11, 2007

  8. I can hardly believe that the light sources were a window and a reflector; this seems to be glowing from the inside. I wish I could watch you work your magic!

    Comment by Judith Polakoff | April 11, 2007

  9. Spectacular! Of course I’ve been taken by your other photos, as well. You are quite an artist with the lens and a very giving person to share your techniques.
    Thank you!

    Comment by Gina Mae | April 11, 2007

  10. Your work is amazing….

    Comment by Jill | April 11, 2007

  11. magnifique cette photo

    Comment by objectif-plume | April 12, 2007

  12. Stunning image. Glad you kept it! :)

    Comment by sil63 | April 12, 2007

  13. Amazing colour. It almost looks like a flaming poppy!

    Comment by Jeremy | April 12, 2007

  14. Hey Michael, the color really pops and nice lighting.

    Comment by Mike Moats | April 12, 2007

  15. Wild colours, it looks like it’s on fire!

    Comment by BobC | April 12, 2007

  16. Thanks everyone for the very kind comments!

    Bonnie, I’m not sure which would seem the most popular for the buyers, designers, etc., but for me, … I just happen to create mostly verticals.
    Seems that out in nature and the type of work that I do, most of the subjects tend to grow or move vertically while viewing them for compositional value.
    But, … every single horizontal that I have shown so far has sold or been licensed.

    Go figure! :)

    Comment by macroartinnature | April 12, 2007

  17. Great art!!

    I am sold!!

    Comment by Charlie Tan | April 13, 2007

  18. Delicate photograph! Bravo.

    Comment by KAVEH | April 20, 2007


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

  • Meta

