"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

“White Phlox” Macro Photography – Using High-Key Lighting

Simply cram your lens into the mass of blooms, shoot with the lens setting at wide open, and have fun.
Most importantly, ….. find a good composition!

© 2004 – Michael Brown
Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.
“White Phlox”

wp04phloxwhiteabstract04wp.jpg

Thanks for looking everyone!

April 6, 2007 - Posted by | abstract, art, blog, botanical, canon, composition, Digital, DSLR, Fine Art Nature Photography, flora, flowers, hiking, horticulture, landscapes, life, macro, Macro Photographer, nature, Nature Photographer, outdoors, paintings, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop | , , , , ,

15 Comments

  1. It’s hard to believe that some of your stuff is a photograph — some of them look more like paintings. You have a real knack for this type of thing, and your work is absolutely wonderful.

    Comment by Brian Auer | April 6, 2007

  2. Totally cool, dude! :-) I’m in Orlando right now. My son has basketball. No cramming it for me right now. The players just don’t appreciate it! ;-)

    Comment by paul | April 6, 2007

  3. ooohhhh… love this! Love the flower, too. If I can remember correctly, they only bloom once in the Sprint. Wish it were all year round.

    Comment by Jill | April 6, 2007

  4. This is fantastic. It has feel of fantasy.

    Comment by Troy | April 6, 2007

  5. I really get the feeling of being a bug in Michael Brown’s world with this one. Just give me some sunglasses for the high key lights.

    Comment by Mark | April 6, 2007

  6. I have always enjoyed your “cram” method, and am looking forward to giving it a go this year.

    Comment by micki | April 7, 2007

  7. Most unusual. I like this soft photo and colours very much.

    Comment by Jeremy | April 7, 2007

  8. That is awesome!!! It is so simple, but extremely fascination.

    Comment by Olga | April 8, 2007

  9. Hi Michael,

    If you have time, could you answer a question for me. I’m going to buy a macro lens. I have a Sony A100 camera, so I’m looking at Sony/Minolta and Sigma, Tamron compatible lenses. What focal length do you suggest? The ones I’m looking at are 90 mm, 100 mm, 150 mm, and 180 mm. I want to photograph flowers, but also butterflies — and each spring we get a crop of preying mantises. I’ve been trying to 2 springs to get photos of them, but I just don’t have the lens for something that small.

    Thanks.
    Donna
    http://donnamhughes.my-expressions.com

    Comment by Donna | April 8, 2007

  10. Lovely photo….just as I like them….Soft, bright and dreamy-like. I have always enjoyed to look at your photos…You are very inspreing. Happy Easter.

    Comment by Sol | April 8, 2007

  11. another Mike B. Masterpiece.. excellent!

    Comment by Cindy | April 8, 2007

  12. Thanks everyone!

    Hey Donna, … sent you a e-mail.

    Comment by macroartinnature | April 9, 2007

  13. J’aime énormément la douceur de cette photo…bravoo!

    Comment by Manon | April 9, 2007

  14. This is the best photography lesson ever! Thanks for the inspiration.

    Comment by puzzled | April 10, 2007

  15. how do you connect your 100mm to your 50mm?

    Comment by david russin | May 3, 2007


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

  • Meta

