"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

Daffodils – A Reflection Of Me.

I was out shooting the other day when a young lady approached me from behind and said “hello, … what are you shooting?”
I turned to see someone who looked like they might still be in college, with a photography vest on, 3 camera bodies and lenses, and a tripod.
I told her that I was shooting some of the daffodils.
She then says, … “they have been done to death!”
She then asks, … “do you honestly think that you can get something different?”
Now, I will not say where that conversation went to, … but needless to say, … her mind was made up!

I can choose to see this world of ours just like everyone else.
I can also choose to see it differently.
It is up to the photographer behind the camera & lens to decide if a certain subject has been “done to death!”
When you are out shooting this season, and come upon something that you have often seen in print or on the web, … still go ahead and shoot it.
Take a shot as you had first seen it.
Then ask yourself, “what really attracted me to this subject in the first place?”
After deciding that, … enhance upon it with different angles/perspectives/compositions, lens settings, focal lengths, shutter speeds, ISO’s, lighting, etc. Work it hard!
Throw all of your creative energy into a certain subject this season, and many times, not only will you learn something new about your subject and your photography techniques, but you may also learn a lot more about yourself.
You may learn that there is something more interesting in that image that you just created.
Hopefully, … you will see that the image you created, … is “you”.

These two images below are some daffodils that are a bit different than what you may normally see.
The first one was a daffodil that was sitting down within a large head of ornamental cabbage.
The second one was created while out shooting with a lensbaby.
Did I set out to photograph something that was very different?
Not really.
What you see in these following two images, ….. is simply me!

© 2005 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.

“Daffodil & Ornamental Cabbage”

wp05daffodil2wp.jpg

© 2007 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.

“Daffodil”

wp07daffodil1wp.jpg

Thanks for looking everyone.
Now, ….. go out and have yourselves some fun!

Michael Brown – Photographer

“Macro Art In Nature” – Website

March 26, 2007 - Posted by | abstract, art, blog, botanical, canon, composition, Digital, DSLR, Fine Art Nature Photography, flora, flowers, hiking, horticulture, landscapes, life, macro, Macro Photographer, nature, Nature Photographer, outdoors, paintings, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop | , , , , ,

9 Comments

  1. That’s one of the reasons I love photographing flowers so much. There are so many interesting angles and perspectives other than straight-on shots. I really like your Lensbaby photo :)

    Good advice you’ve given!

    Comment by deb | March 26, 2007

  2. I just came back from a photography workshop where we were stretched to the limits. We were challenged at every turn to do no and different things with ordinary objects and situations. When you’ve already made up your mind with a ‘no’, then you can’t move beyond it. So, for her, yes, daffodils have been shot to death and she can find nothing new. If she flips that around, she’ll gain new perspective. It’s amazing what you can do with ordinary subjects. I see it here all of the time!

    Comment by paul | March 26, 2007

  3. Wow, she is going to go far with that kind of attitude. Sad, really.

    Comment by Peruby | March 26, 2007

  4. Michael I have been watching your blog for over a year and never commented – sorry. So no more lurking. Just wanted to say that I love your work and you are an inspiration to me.

    Comment by robyn | March 27, 2007

  5. Part of the excitement for me is coming up with something interesting of a common subject. And even if I do make an image that someone else has, well it may be the first one that I have! It makes you want to pick up someone like that and shake them upside down – perhaps that mental obstruction they have will fall out. :)

    Comment by Mark | March 27, 2007

  6. “I can choose to see this world of ours just like everyone else.
    I can also choose to see it differently.
    It is up to the photographer behind the camera & lens to decide if a certain subject has been “done to death!”

    You are so right. It’s what writers learn, too–every topic under the sun has already been covered, but the challenge is to find a unique slant and develop it. The same is true of photogaphy, and you’ve proven it here with these two beautiful daffodil images.

    If the college student was listening, she learned something valuable.

    Comment by Photo Buffet | March 27, 2007

  7. Ah, but seeing if you can capture something differently that’s been “done to death” is part of the fun! After all, the camera sees both ways, right? :) I hope she listened to what you had to say, even if she isn’t ready to really hear you yet. That’s another beautiful LB shot, Michael.

    Comment by Kathleen | March 27, 2007

  8. I’ve never seen a daffodil shot like that before.
    I hope someday she stumbles across your work, perhaps would make her think twice…

    Comment by S- | March 28, 2007

  9. Thanks again everyone, … and Robyn, … if I can inspire you or anyone else with what I do, … then I have done something good in this world of ours. That is what counts the most!
    : )

    Appreciate it guys!

    Comment by macroartinnature | March 29, 2007


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

  • Meta

