"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

“Frog” – Digital Photography Painting.

© 2005 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited

“Frog”

wp207_0702b0007wp.jpg

Michael Brown – Photographer

“Macro Art In Nature” – Website

March 5, 2007 - Posted by | abstract, art, art buyer, art consultant, blog, botanical, canon, composition, designer, Digital, DSLR, fauna, Fine Art Nature Photography, flora, flowers, hiking, horticulture, insects, landscapes, life, macro, Macro Photographer, nature, Nature Photographer, outdoors, paintings, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop, Wildlife | , , , , ,

17 Comments

  1. Wow! Now that is some cool post processing, Mike! Say, when are we going to get together for a bite to eat and some chit chat?!

    Comment by paul | March 5, 2007

  2. Ah crap Paul, … I just remembered that e-mail.
    Will give you a holler here shortly, … later tonight.

    Man, … am I ever getting forgetful with some e-mails! :)

    Comment by macroartinnature | March 5, 2007

  3. This is pretty darn cool man. Would love to read the story behind this one. Peace.

    Comment by Mark | March 5, 2007

  4. I absolutely love this.. and I remember a similar dragonfly image you did in this style.. mesemerizing and so unique!

    Comment by Cindy | March 5, 2007

  5. Mark, Cindy, … thanks!

    Cindy, would you believe that I had a hard drive failure last year, and recovered everything just fine except for that one dragonfly painting.
    No problem I thought, as I surely had it on one of the backup drives.
    Well, guess what?
    I must had never added it to the backup drives. (Damn)
    All I had were the couple of jpegs of it, … and that is it!
    If I can recreate it from the jpegs, … I just don’t know.
    At least I have the original dragonfly image, and I think I can recreate it from that jpeg onto the original tiff of the dragonfly.
    If I can, … then that certainly will be one to write about!!

    Comment by macroartinnature | March 5, 2007

  6. oh nooooo!! I recall that photo because it had so much depth and was so very beautiful- and I know how much work you put into it because at the time I viewed it you still had some ‘finishing touches’ to do on it. Drats!

    2 yrs. ago I met with 4 other NPN members for spring migration at a ‘migrant trap’ on the coast. We had such a blast- but I used a brand new photopod (by apple) for my image storage. I got home and ALL of the photos I took were corrupted- and they showed up on the screen of the ipod as being just fine. I was just sick sick sick. I’m not an early bird and alot of the shots I got were taken in that sweet morning light that I rarely see.. (it’s hard to dance with moths and get up real early.. lol)
    BUT I still had a good time.. and I guess that’s what it’s all about. I’ll never replace all of those 100’s of photos, but I still can see them in my minds eye. (And it gives me an excuse to get even better shots now)
    But I know that sinking feeling.. and I hope you’re able to salvage the jpg.. that was a very special dragonfly :)

    Comment by Cindy | March 5, 2007

  7. This one looks great. Very moody too :)

    Comment by sil63 | March 6, 2007

  8. Fantastic! The original photo must have been awesome too. I’m never disappointed here!

    Comment by Roberta | March 6, 2007

  9. This frog doesn’t realize what a star he’s become! I swear, it looks like he’s posing for you, Mike. Gawking right into the lens. The sun in the background adds a second point of interest. I love everything about this photo, even though I’m not a frog fan. (Four brothers cured me of that.)

    Comment by Photo Buffet | March 6, 2007

  10. Wow! Speechless. Please, could you tell us, how you banned the frog the way it sits and look?

    Comment by Fiona | March 6, 2007

  11. […] Original post by macroartinnature […]

    Pingback by frog toad » “Frog” | March 6, 2007

  12. Fiona, if you meant “how did I get it to stay in one place”, … it is simply a matter of the frog getting tired and decides to sit for awhile.

    I had the shot lined up, and if he moved or jumped, I would simply pick him back up and put him back in the same place in order to take a few shots.

    After about 1 minute, he would jump again, I would move him again, … and then he would just sit and wait it out.

    I don’t think it caused him any stress, because when a grasshopper decided to make himself known, … the frog promptly ate it! :)

    Comment by macroartinnature | March 8, 2007

  13. Thank you Michael. Did the frog sit in the gras – or what kind of background did you use. I’m just trying to understand, how you built the mystic green-blue background.

    Comment by Fiona | March 9, 2007

  14. Yes, the frog was sitting in the grass and the camera was right on the ground for this shot.
    Then I took the original image into the computer, and painted over it using various programs.

    For the final results that you see here, I used Painter, Photoshop CS, and Studio Artist 3.0.

    Thanks again Fiona. Really appreciate it!

    Comment by macroartinnature | March 10, 2007

  15. Thanky you again, Michael.

    Comment by Fiona | March 11, 2007

  16. That is simply amazing.
    Beautiful.

    Comment by Solaria | March 11, 2007

  17. Thanks Solaria, Fiona! Appreciate it!!

    Comment by macroartinnature | March 20, 2007


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

  • Meta

