"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

The Story Behind The Image

First of all, … many thanks to those who have written about the image that you see to the right side in the “About” section of this journal. It is without a doubt one of my favorites that I have ever created since it took me a number of years to get exactly what I wanted. I just did not think that it would create so much interest from viewers.

This image I consider to be my “intro” image for the “In Their World” series that is ever so slowly coming along. Not technically a difficult shot to create, but in my mind, … everything had to come together that fit my vision for this series. I have become very picky over the years, and this is one of the reasons why it took so long for this particular shot. I have a storyline, … and within that storyline is mystery and beauty. It has to be just right “for me“. (most important!)

© 2006 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited

Daylily – “In Their World” Series

06daylilyabstractred9wp.jpg

This image is of a daylily, or “hemerocallis“. I put the lens right on top of the petal and moved it towards the center or the throat area of the flower. I wanted a view, a feeling of how a small insect or other small creature might see it as they moved down that petal and to the center. Now one can view this for awhile and start to imagine just what that small creature in nature is thinking as he views it. Just what is he thinking as he moved towards the dropoff that leads down and deep within the throat of the flower. What does he think of that mass of vertical stamens on the other side of this deep canyon that reaches up to the heavens? I would imagine that yes, they do think of food, danger, mating, etc., … but what about their beautiful surroundings as they move along? Can they perceive colors as I do? I am basically a dreamer and explorer all rolled up into one, and have often wished that I were their size for a day. Again, ….. do they see beauty? Do they appreciate it the way that I do? Who knows, ….. but it is nice and fun to dream about it!

© 2006 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.
Beetle – “In Their World” Series

06beetle06v1wp.jpg

This series that I have been working on for some time now involves colorful abstracts of flowers, but the key players are the smallest of creatures. I enjoy capturing them in the beautiful world that they live in. I do not care for the massive amounts of details that so many seem to be after in the world of macro. I want to show a magical place where these little ones live, and try to show it with some scale. After getting the images needed for my intro shot that I had been wanting, I turned to see this small type of beetle inside another daylily, who was just sitting there in one place, lifting it legs up in the air alternately as if it were dancing. I swung the camera around on the tripod, had a near perfect distance to work with, moved one reflector, and started to shoot. 1/320 sec. @ f2.8 with a ISO 400. He was showing me “his world”. I loved it!

I look at this small insect through the lens, and I know that we are different from each other. But I ask myself, ….. just how much difference is there really? What do we have in common? Maybe I can put it in a image of what we have in common!

“Macro Art In Nature” – Website

February 8, 2007 - Posted by | abstract, art, blog, botanical, canon, composition, daylily, Digital, DSLR, fauna, Fine Art Nature Photography, flora, flowers, hemerocallis, horticulture, insects, landscapes, life, macro, Macro Photographer, nature, Nature Photographer, outdoors, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop, Wildlife | , , , , ,

10 Comments

  1. Absolutely beautiful photos, your images are a true inspiration to me!

    Many thanks for your comment on my photoblog – I only came across it earlier today, I’m new to the photoblogging world and haven’t figured out how to get comments emailed to me huge humble apologies for missing it and seemingly ignoring you!

    Your feedback is very helpful indeed, I’ll take it on board :)

    Thanks again

    Comment by Kate Luck | February 8, 2007

  2. I saw your comment about tagging. I’m glad they’re working on it! At any rate, here’s a link to a forum about it :)

    http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic.php?id=7543&replies=32

    Cheers Josh

    Comment by Smiley | February 8, 2007

  3. Thanks Kate!
    You have some wonderful images, and certainly hope that you continue showing them.
    So, … fix up that journal and have some fun! :)

    Thanks Josh,
    I went looking for that thread the other day, and must have skimmed right over it. I thought it was deleted!
    Will take a read here soon.

    Comment by macroartinnature | February 8, 2007

  4. Your macros are always an inspiration. I favor the macro world, too, although I sometimes forget that fact. :-) Coming back here always reminds me.

    Comment by paul | February 8, 2007

  5. I don’t know what I enjoy more, your amazing macros or your narratives. Thanks for taking time to share the story behind the photos. This is what sets your photoblog apart from others.

    Comment by Photo Buffet | February 9, 2007

  6. Thanks for the tips.

    Comment by charliebrown8989 | February 12, 2007

  7. […] macroartinnature.wordpress […]

    Pingback by myninjaplease » Blog Archive » mo macro | March 3, 2007

  8. The colors in the top photo are just fantastic – one of the best abstract I’ve seen in a long time and a favourite of your site!

    Comment by Ralf | March 17, 2007

  9. Hi,

    Some superb images on there – please feel free to post this to http://www.photographyvoter.com

    Comment by Paul | April 19, 2007

  10. One of your best for me !!

    Thanks for this !!

    Comment by Personne | June 28, 2007


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

  • Meta

