"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

Macro – Droplet Of Water – Using 50mm 1.4 Lens In Reverse

© 2004 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.

122_2295point1webns1blog.jpgI originally posted this shot at the old blog/journal about a year ago, and thought I would bring it over here. This shot is of a droplet of water that is clinging to the very tip end of a flower’s stamen. I lost the file name to this flower and hopefully will find it later. I do believe that it is a type of “freesia”, and the stamen itself is nearly hair thin when looking at it with the naked eye.

I put the macro slider (a critical step) on the tripod, mounted the camera on top of that, added the Nikkor 50mm 1.4 lens in reverse to the Canon 100mm macro, surrounded the flower with various reflectors & mirrors, used the shutter release cable (another critical must), and started shooting. Fun and easy to do!


January 14, 2007 - Posted by | abstract, art, blog, botanical, canon, composition, Digital, DSLR, Fine Art Nature Photography, flora, flowers, horticulture, life, macro, Macro Photographer, nature, Nature Photographer, outdoors, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop | , , , , ,

20 Comments

  1. Excellent! I really love this shot.

    Comment by Justin | January 14, 2007

  2. Great light tone and colour in this unusual macro shot, I like the still-life method with mirrors and reflectors

    Comment by john | January 14, 2007

  3. Very good and interesting idea

    Comment by fabrizio | January 14, 2007

  4. Thanks a bunch Justin!
    Appreciate it.

    Comment by macroartinnature | January 14, 2007

  5. Thanks for visiting John!
    Yep, … those little reflectors and mirrors really come in handy, and especially with small macro subjects.

    Take care buddy, and again, … thanks!

    Comment by macroartinnature | January 14, 2007

  6. Thanks Fabrizio, … and good to see you too! :)

    Comment by macroartinnature | January 14, 2007

  7. Good to see you back, and of course with different taste and look. your works are great as usual and telling the truth they inspire me and give me the energy to shoot my own pictures. Thanks for visiting my blog and thanks for sharing your ideas with us.
    Hope you are doing well and everything is OK with you. My best for your sons, the second talented generation of photographers who are doing it in BROWN way.

    Comment by arash | January 15, 2007

  8. Superb colour and detail. Any ideas of the combined focal length and aperture of this setup?

    Comment by owen | January 15, 2007

  9. Nice to see you back on this new site! The pic is excellent, as always :) Cheers!

    Comment by sil | January 15, 2007

  10. Arash, Owen, Sil, … thanks!

    I had some time on my hands before I had to start shooting again, so I thought now would be a good time to move the journal over to something else like WordPress.
    I like it much better!

    The settings for this image was:
    1/250 sec. @ f2.8
    ISO 400

    The ratio is something like 4:1, … or something like that! :)

    Thanks again,
    Mike

    Comment by macroartinnature | January 15, 2007

  11. This is another superb works!!

    Comment by charliebrown8989 | January 15, 2007

  12. Beautiful. Almost looks like a place in another universe.

    Comment by solphoto | January 15, 2007

  13. simply a wonderful shot. the pink is stunning!

    Comment by sabinche | January 16, 2007

  14. Charlie, Sol, Sabinche, … many thanks!

    Comment by macroartinnature | January 16, 2007

  15. absolutely incredible shot Mike! I’m going to have to pick your brains regarding a slider before spring- I have the lenses, but no slider.. and no idea how to use one. I pretty much handhold all of my shots, so I have some learning to do ;)

    Comment by Cindy | January 16, 2007

  16. Thanks again Cindy!
    And you can pick my brains all you want. Will do anything I can to give you a hand.
    (Oh, … and yeah, … I still handhold some of mine as well!)
    :)

    Comment by macroartinnature | January 16, 2007

  17. This stayed in my memory from the first time around. I love it. A delicate jewel. Excellent!

    Comment by Mark | January 17, 2007

  18. Thanks Mark!

    Comment by macroartinnature | January 17, 2007

  19. nice site!

    Comment by incoddnito | January 31, 2007

  20. Thanks Incoddnito! :)

    Comment by macroartinnature | February 1, 2007


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

  • Meta

