"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

“Layer It, Paint It, Layer It, Then Paint It Again!”

For over two years now I have been working on a process that is a bit different than the norm. It involves taking a original photograph, duplicating the original and painting over it, then using a method for raising each brush stroke to give the painted version some texture/depth, then repeat those steps to raise the texture and depth even more. By using layers and continually adding, I can create a painting that has depth and sometimes some shadow dropoff on the edge of those brush strokes that looks rather stunning when printed out on canvas.

This image here of a magnolia bloom really does not show the depth/texture that well, except for maybe near the center of the bloom. Looks wonderful in print!

© 2007 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.

06magnoliabloom2blog11.jpg

The bottom image here is of some wildflowers I found while out shooting one day down around my parents home out in the country. This image was duplicated three times. That’s 3 different layers painted 3 different times, then combined together in photoshop. A lot of work, but it does consistantly give me something different that appeals to me!

© 2006 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.

281_8166a8b35cf1blog.jpg

For both pieces that you see here I used Photoshop CS mainly for layering and texture building, then using Painter & Studio Artist 3.0 for painting with various brushes.

Thanks for looking everyone!

Mike

January 7, 2007 - Posted by | abstract, art, blog, botanical, canon, composition, Digital, DSLR, Fine Art Nature Photography, flora, flowers, horticulture, landscapes, life, macro, Macro Photographer, nature, Nature Photographer, outdoors, paintings, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop | , , , , ,

12 Comments

  1. Hi there Mike, the new photoblog is looking great! those painted images are quite impressive – again you have inspired me to give that a go with a few of my shots! cheers :)

    Comment by david kleinert | January 7, 2007

  2. Thanks David for the comments.
    Although busy, … feels good to be back at it actually!

    Take care buddy,
    Mike

    Comment by macroartinnature | January 7, 2007

  3. this process is really fantastic. i love the feel of the bottom one…great new site.

    Comment by matt | January 8, 2007

  4. Just caught up with you. Great new blog Mike. Really happy you’re blogging again because that way I learn more :)
    The painted effects are amazing.

    Comment by Mark | January 9, 2007

  5. Hi mike. Happy new year !! I am very happy you’re blogging again !! Very good the first flower ! I like it.

    Comment by cedric lemoigne | January 9, 2007

  6. Matt, Mark, Cedric, … thanks guys!
    Appreciate the comments, and thanks for visiting.

    Mike

    Comment by macroartinnature | January 9, 2007

  7. Your work is stunning! I’ve always loved macro photography but this is in a whole other league. When you say you’re painting over the photos, do you mean with virtual paint in photoshop or with actual paint and if so, what kind? This is really amazing. I’m glad you commented on my blog since it gave me the opportunity to visit yours. I’d love to paint from photos like yours and wish I was a better photographer.

    Comment by Jana Bouc | January 9, 2007

  8. Thanks Jana,
    And I wish that I could “really” paint like you! :)

    I have to cheat a bit, painting over a existing image using the computer.
    I forgot to add it, so I edited it and put the info in the post on what I used.
    It is simply taking the original, painting over it in the computer, layering that over the original and adding texture to it, and repeating those steps until the desired depth/effects appeals to me.

    Hope this helps a bit, and will be adding your blog to my list here soon, … whenever I get the chance to start adding them!

    Thanks again Jana,
    Mike

    Comment by macroartinnature | January 9, 2007

  9. Mike, your new site looks amazing. I think WordPress has a nicer layout than Blogger.

    I love this painted effect, although “effect” is not the right word. This was a lot more time-consuming (and artistic) than clicking on an effect filter. Congratulations. They’re beautiful works of art!

    Comment by Bonnie | January 12, 2007

  10. Thank you for the very kind words Bonnie! :)

    Yes, I certainly like WordPress so much better than Blogger.
    Blogger got to be a PITA, … never knowing what was going to happen there.

    Take care girl, and again, … good to see you and thanks for visiting!

    Mike

    Comment by macroartinnature | January 12, 2007

  11. Hey Mike!! Your work is absolutly amazing and I`m sooo glad i stumbled upon your site!!! Its taught me so many new techniques for my own business!!! and i`m gonna test the waters on this painting one…seems a wee bit tricky but hopefully i`ll figure it out!!!

    Comment by Angie | January 16, 2007

  12. Thanks Angie, and if you need any help/ideas/thoughts, just let me know and I’ll see what I can do.
    And, … have some fun with it too.
    Seems to be much more rewarding when you are at least having some fun! :)

    Thanks again,
    Mike

    Comment by macroartinnature | January 16, 2007


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

  • Meta

