"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

Macro Photography, Macro Art – Most Open Of All Creative Styles In Nature Photography!

©  Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.
You know, … the more that I think about it, the more I am convinced that there are far more opportunities to capture something unique, or something that possibly has never been seen before, than in our world of macro photography. A individual seems to have far more avenues that they can take in macro photography to create artwork that appeals to many.
It is just my opinion but personally, it is rare anymore to find a landscape, maybe a bird or a mammal, even the many underwater scenes in nature, and for that image to say to me, … “I’m different”! This is what I always strive for in macro photography.
Sure, there are many wonderful images created in nature photography every day, but in macro it seems to be easily achieved and the chances of capturing something unique are vast, and again, far more than any other type/style of nature photography.

One can take those in close, blurred images in abstract form that appeals to many. One can also back off a bit, bringing in those tiny little flowers that are often overlooked in the late day fall sunlight, … and with a touch of details showing. Include some type of highlight in the backgrouund that is blurred, it becomes similar to a setting sun. Vary the focus, the depth, the light, and all while the numerous compositions keep revealing themselves in such a small area. Very hard to do this with a landscape, birds and mammals, etc. Yes, it can be done to a point maybe, … but not as easily achieved. And yet again, you can shoot macro in a way which is not often done, … or seen in nature, unlike a highly detailed landscape or of a animal.
Thinking about it even more, the vast majority of macro subjects are never seen by the average Joe that is out taking a stroll. Bring it to them, and in a way that has some charm, some style, … and you will have yourself a audience. Hopefully, you will have a audience that wants to learn, … and who wants to see more.

Although yes you can do it and not to easily achieved, you simply do not often see very many landscapes, birds or mammals, or those underwater scenes that you can pusposely throw things out of focus to achieve something that you would be willing to hang on a wall. Again, you can do it, but not as easily as you can in the world of macro.

Always keeping a eye and the mind open will greatly benefit the macro photographer.
In this last image, I found a dead moth that was stuck within a clump of grasses.
Some would not even see this, some would see it but overlook the potential because of the way that they have been taught to shoot, or because they could not figure out a composition, or they were stuck on maximum details in the world of macro in which this case it probably would not work very well because of the moth’s surroundings.
Shooting with the lens set to almost wide open, with just enough depth to get the details in the moth, and letting everything else simply to “fall in place”, gives off something a bit different than anything that I had in my files.

I like to play, ….. it’s the kid in me!
I like to find subjects that are different, …. and just like a little kid, to show you what I found.
I like to create, ….. it’s simply who I am!

I also like Butter Pecan ice cream, ….. so I’m outta here to grab a bowl!!!

“Macro Art In Nature” – Website

October 24, 2006 - Posted by | abstract, art, blog, botanical, canon, composition, Digital, dragonflies, dragonfly, DSLR, Fine Art Nature Photography, flora, flowers, hiking, horticulture, insects, landscapes, life, macro, Macro Photographer, nature, Nature Photographer, odonata, outdoors, paintings, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop | , , , , ,

9 Comments

  1. So true!
    I really like that first photo ( all are good) but wow I feel like I’m looking at it through water :-)

    Comment by Doris | October 24, 2006

  2. Love and will always love your macro images! I think they have a poetic quality other standard macro pics do not have. :)

    Comment by sil | October 25, 2006

  3. I agree with your words Mike – the world of macro has so many possibilities. Love all those images you posted, all unique in their own special way :)

    Comment by david kleinert | October 25, 2006

  4. I’ve definitely found some fascinating stuff since I’ve “tried” to do macro – and I’ve noticed things I wouldn’t normally see.
    Particularly like the moth but all are excellent – as usual :)

    Comment by Markarian | October 26, 2006

  5. Hey Michael. Just found your blog and enjoy seeing your images and text in this context compared to NSN that I rarely visit anymore. Very nice images and blog. Look forward to checking it out more in depth too. Very nice.

    Comment by Dan Creighton | October 26, 2006

  6. Your site is a lot of fun to visit. I love the top (blue) photo for its dreamy look. My favorite is probably the second one. All are well done.

    Comment by Jeff | October 27, 2006

  7. Thanks again everyone!

    Now, ….. who is Dan Creighton? :)

    What’s up dude? Good to see you hanging around! We have not chatted in awhile, guess since we both have been busy.
    I am guilty of not visiting your site in sometime, so I need to pay you a visit.
    Yes, I hung it up as moderator over at NSN, simply because of the time involved. I thought it was time to let someone else to have a shot at it for awhile!

    Got to go and take care of some things, so will holler back your way later.

    Thanks again everyone,
    Mike

    Comment by MBrown | October 27, 2006

  8. I think you’re right! I want to go take some macro shots now! Glad to see you’re posting again.

    Comment by jason | October 29, 2006

  9. Thanks Jason!

    Comment by MBrown | October 30, 2006


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

  • Meta

