"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

It’s “That Time Of Year” Again, But It’s Also “That Time Of Year” Again Too!

© 2006 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.


Yep, … not only is it that time of year again, but it is that time of year again as well, and one of them is one that does drive me a bit batty at times!
But first, the one that I enjoy most.

These two images were taken late in the day with about 20 minutes left before the sun went down below the horizon.

I really enjoy this time of year.
Sure, many of the rich colors are gone but there are numerous color blends replacing those that are now fading.
It is getting cooler outside, and setting out in a field with a cool breeze blowing is refreshing.
There are many blades of grass that are changing, not only in color, but their textures as well.
There are stems that have already shed their leaves, leaving stark and well defined silhouettes in the late day sun.
The stems are stiff in the wind, while the withering grasses are moving about.
I really enjoy finding those compositions in this late day light during the fall.
Then there are times when you find a punch of color among the fading grasses and the darkened stems.
Looking for compositions with that lens set to wide open, reflectors in place for a added touch of light, shooting right through the existing foliage, … this is so relaxing, and allows the mind to create freely, to create easily. I love it!

© 2006 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.
With these images, I simply focused on subjects up front, then focused in the back, all while looking for various compositions, depth, light, etc.
I used the Canon 420EX flash off camera and mounted onto the tripod while handholding the camera.
I put two small reflectors onto the plamps and facing the subject area, while pointing the flash right through a larger reflector that was mounted in front of it to heavily diffuse the light it was putting out, thus adding just a hint of light.
Easy to do, allows plenty of freedom, does not give out to much light, and fun to do!

And, … it is also that time of year too!
It seems that it is already time for the many forums that I visit to have those in depth discussions, or those “love spats”, and many of them sounds so much like a broken record.
It is almost as if everyone is snowed in and getting stir crazy.

What is art?, … that ain’t art, … oh yes it is art cause my momma said it is!
You have not studied art, therefore, you do not know what you are talking about.
To clone or not to clone, … to do a little touch up, … you are now a very bad person and what you produce is not a photograph but it is now digital art, … or mixed media, and it belongs in the other forum.
You should always let people know what digital manipulations were involved, or you are now a dishonest person.
Macs verses PC’s. (Well, … macs do win that one!) :)
Which carry on is better?
What really is “nature photography”?
What really is “macro photography”?
Shallow depth of field in macro means you need a lot more practice.
Which ball head you should buy or you are waisting your money.
The 5D is or is not a professional camera.
The Canon Rebel is purely for amateurs. (Made enough with mine in the past 4 months to easily buy two 5D’s and a lens that I want!)
Canon vs. Nikon vs. Olympus vs. Minolta vs. large format, … and so on.
Dummy, … don’t buy that laptop, … buy this one instead!
What will Santa bring you this season?
Santa is stupid for bringing you that!
How do people feel about manipulating photos?
How do people feel about manipulating photos?
(2 weeks later) How do people feel about manipulating photos?
Should manipulation be allowed?
I like this site, and I do not like the other site because of those people over there.
These pictures tell a story, and the others do not.
These gloves are the warmest.
Those other gloves are worthless.
These boots are great, expensive, and look good on a professional.
That tripod sucks!
How does nature photographers here at this site feel about manipulation of images?
Should those who manipulate their images, those who know nothing about art, those who use Nikon, and those who use a PC be taken out and shot? :)

Okay, …. forget the being shot part!!

Yep, … it is that time of year where I will not be visiting very many sites, as they seem to be the same thing over and over again, year after year, during this time of year.
My time will be better spent creating, and doing something “if I can”, something that is different than anyone has ever seen, to do it well, something that appeals to me first, others second, and to learn from it.
That is the key, ……… to learn!

Nuff my mouth for today!!

***

October 18, 2006 - Posted by | abstract, art, blog, botanical, canon, composition, Digital, DSLR, Fine Art Nature Photography, flora, flowers, hiking, horticulture, landscapes, life, macro, Macro Photographer, nature, Nature Photographer, outdoors, paintings, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop | , , , , ,

24 Comments

  1. Did yeah have to post a swing by swing replay LOL heheheh

    I stick to my little corner and don’t venture out much!

    OH BTW Love your work heheheeh but you know that!

    Comment by Doris | October 18, 2006

  2. Doris, … that really wasn’t a full swing by swing, or play by play of what goes on in the forums.
    It does get a touch boring after a little while, and that is when I will step away from them for awhile.

    And, … get out of that corner girl!! :)

    Comment by MBrown | October 18, 2006

  3. My world will be all the more richer for you going out and shooting more of these beautiful images, than being online engaged in ridiculous conversations that in the end are meaningless to the art of making images. Oh, did I mention these are beautiful!

    Comment by Roberta | October 18, 2006

  4. Thanks, “uncommon Canadian”! :)

    Wish that I could get up your way sometime and get out to do some shooting.
    Maybe someday, … hopefully!

    Comment by MBrown | October 18, 2006

  5. Your photos are fantastic…i love colour gradations

    Comment by Tizio | October 19, 2006

  6. Thank you very much for showing us these two wonderful beauties.

    Comment by KPK | October 19, 2006

  7. Tiz, KPK, … thanks guys!

    Comment by MBrown | October 19, 2006

  8. Mike,
    Your stuff just keeps getting better. Please keep the tips coming. I get so lost when I go out to shoot at this time of year. I hate winter.

    -M-

    Comment by askme2flashU | October 19, 2006

  9. Yeah I know :-) I read I just stay out of them umm discussions :-)

    I have my own views and thats what is important to me :-)

    I like it over here in my coroner! Lot of fantasy to play with! and Only becusae you showed me the way :-)

    Comment by Doris | October 19, 2006

  10. Alright Doris, … watch those fantasies. They can get you in trouble you know!
    LoL!!!

    Comment by MBrown | October 19, 2006

  11. Hey Martin, I most certainly use to hate winter too.
    Then, … I started to look at it a bit differently, and up close.
    Wow, what a difference!
    The other thing though that unfortunately is a lot different, is that my feet get colder a lot easier and will at times refuse to warm up.
    The older I get, the ….. oh well, let’s just say “it sucks”! :)

    Comment by MBrown | October 19, 2006

  12. Love the way these seem to just poke out of the background mist. Thanks for the tips also. Always a very educational site this :)

    Comment by Markarian | October 19, 2006

  13. Hi Michael, thanks for your visit, which brought me back here :)

    Nice to read your ranting today. YES, i guess we all feel that at times… i know i certainly do. In fact today i wrote to photoblogs.org about exactly the same sort of thing – nobody visits your blog from there because you can’t attach/claim it to my log-in name… consequence nobody knows who i am if i bookmarked them :)
    Been like this since i joined in March! Basically we are all in this because we love photography, we love art and we like to get feedback on it. BUT it is a popularity contest, the more you write, the bigger your blogroll, the more visits you get. Unfortunately some people think that because they have a lot of comments they are also good :)
    Most of the sites i’ve seen work like this.
    JUST ignore it, go back to doing what you like, what you enjoy and forget the rest. I’d would rather have a few very good friends than a lot of the other sort.
    By the way i like your photography, don’t stop… just take a break if neccesary and regather your strength.

    Best wishes Neil

    Comment by neil | October 20, 2006

  14. Great post, it’s all so very true. And great photos as usual.

    Comment by An Enlightened Fellow | October 20, 2006

  15. Hi Mike – its been too long between visits! thanks for the kind words on my blog. Love the effect you have created with these two images, and of course for sharing your secrets to these shots! cheers mate :)

    Comment by Anonymous | October 21, 2006

  16. Hi again Mike – forgot to leave name with the last comment! whoops :)

    Comment by david kleinert | October 21, 2006

  17. Sheeesh. Those are beautiful. You are soooo good at this.

    Comment by joan | October 21, 2006

  18. I’ve been visiting your site for a couple of weeks, and love your work. You are an inspiration for me as I have tried some of my own macros this past week. Now I’ve added you as a link so I can get back here with a single click of the mouse. Keep up the good work.

    Comment by Jeff | October 21, 2006

  19. your macro photo tell us a imence story! great soft colours, a pleasure in seeing them

    Comment by photo-effe | October 23, 2006

  20. Hey Mike – Yep, I admit to being lured into some of those discussions, just when I read something that is so absurd I just have to comment. But you are 100% on the money – the efforts and mental energy are better left spent in the field. (although I do tend to comment while it is dark out. 8-p ) It just raises the hair on my neck when some very respected folk get on a high horse to preach their ‘ethics.’ You do have to wonder how many times the same subject can be discussed over and over eh? To each his own in the end, live and let live, and all that jazz…

    Comment by Mark | October 24, 2006

  21. I thought that this post might hit a nerve or two! LoL!!

    Thanks again everyone!

    Comment by MBrown | October 24, 2006

  22. Beautiful art i nature as always.

    Comment by therese | October 25, 2006

  23. Thanks Therese! :0

    Comment by MBrown | October 27, 2006

  24. Beautiful shots.

    Comment by Nina Kuriloff | November 1, 2006


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

  • Meta

