"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

“Lynx Spider” – With Macro Photography, … Always Be Ready For The Unexpected!

© 2006 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.

Personally, I think that having a heightened sense while shooting macro is a plus. Having a heightened sense in any style/type of photography is a huge plus, but it seems to be needed more so in the world of macro. I always seem to be running across those “unexpected moments”, and sometimes I seem to know that it is about to happen beforehand, as it did with this Lynx spider.

I was shooting some abstracts, cramming my lens down inside a daylily when I noticed a very tiny speck that looked like it was sitting on the pistil of the flower, deep within the throat area.
I thought that it was a small speck of pollen, but noticed a little hair like structure behind that speck.
I thought that it might be the very tip end of a spider’s leg that was barely showing.
I thought that if I moved my finger on the outside of the flower causing a bit of a shadow, and if in fact it was a spider that was hiding from me, it might make the spider a bit wary of that shadow and to move up into the frame and away from that shadow.
I had the camera on the tripod, the small area already framed and focused, moved my finger along side the flower, the spider moved up into the frame, … and bingo!
A slight readjustment with my focusing, two more shots, and this little guy was off deep into the flower.

It does not always work out like this, but if you can just get a feel for how nature will react to certain things, and be ready for the unexpected, … good things will happen for you!

Canon 100mm macro & 2x teleconverter
Tripod, macro slider, wimberly plamp, reflector
1/200 sec. @ f2.8
ISO 400

The older brother is visiting from Ireland, and I’m taking them all to the zoo for a bit of fun today so I’m outta here! :)

Everyone take care,
Michael

May 26, 2006 - Posted by | art, blog, botanical, canon, composition, daylily, Digital, DSLR, fauna, Fine Art Nature Photography, flora, flowers, hemerocallis, hiking, horticulture, insects, landscapes, life, macro, Macro Photographer, nature, Nature Photographer, outdoors, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop | , , , , ,

11 Comments

  1. OMG. That’s amazing, Michael. The colors really make the subject stand out. I’d love to see it larger. I bet it’s a real jaw-dropper.

    Comment by picturegrl | May 27, 2006

  2. That’s a wonderful photo, and yes perfect senses (or timing).

    Did you take your camera with you to the zoo?

    Comment by Solaria | May 27, 2006

  3. Wow, that’s a funny looking spider. He has googly eyes!

    Comment by Timmybomb | May 27, 2006

  4. this is a great shot Mike! love the angle the spider is on and the lovely colours surrounding him! fantastic composition overall..cheers :)

    Comment by david | May 28, 2006

  5. Wonderful photo. I would like to see your photos larger for detail, but that’s not the reason I come back to your blog. It’s the info.

    Nothing can replace the experiences achieved by a veteran professional photographer. Techniques become instinct. You are able to anticipate circumstances and are better prepared for the moment.

    That you sharing your gift. Something that’s second nature to you is special and appreciated by many.

    Hope you’ll enjoy your time with bro.

    Comment by Marc | May 28, 2006

  6. Just awesome Michael! The colours are incredible.

    Comment by owen | May 28, 2006

  7. clever little ducky.

    Comment by tuan | May 28, 2006

  8. ISO 400…so you’re still using film? Digital does not compare to film, IMO.

    Comment by Plankton, Evil Genius | May 28, 2006

  9. Excellent image and idea. I’ve noticed that when I’m shooting macros I tend to spend more time looking (and seeing) as well.

    Comment by Paul | May 30, 2006

  10. Very very soft and perfect light. Great shot again !!

    Comment by Cédric lemoigne | May 30, 2006

  11. Beautiful!! The colors are dream-like to this fantastic image that you worked to get. Your experience really paid off this time.

    Spending time with your brother is a great thing, hope you have a wonderful visit.

    Comment by micki | May 30, 2006


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

  • Meta

