"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

Assassin Bug Nymph – (Pristhesancus plagipennis) – “In Their World” Series

© 2006 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.

Really love these little guys in their nymph stage.
It was very cloudy and dark yesterday morning at the Riverbanks Botanical Gardens, a bit windy, … a general pain for shooting actually!
I found a area where some of the small assassin bug nymphs were hanging out, they were not very active at the time, so I set up as best as I could in some cramped quarters.
I took some shots with and without flash, and was more pleased with the look of the natural lighting, but I had to bump the ISO up quite a bit to suit the conditions that I had.
Still, as much as I hate to use flash on insects, I needed a “ever so slight” bump in light to help fill in some areas, so I ran the cord from the camera to the off camera 420EX flash, and shot through a diffuser held about 3 feet behind the camera and above it.
It helped to give just the right touch of light. Without it, this would have looked somewhat flat in appearance.

Assassin Bug Nymph – “Pristhesancus plagipennis”

As I have mentioned in the past, I like the less documentary type images when it comes to any type of insect.
I like that “in their world” feel.
I do sometimes wonder as I view and photograph them, if they are looking around their world not only for a meal, not only for a mate, not only looking for any kind of danger, but if they sometimes are looking at the beautiful world that they live in, … taking it all in?
I wonder!

Canon 100mm macro & 2x teleconverter
Tripod, macro slider, reflector, Canon 420EX flash
1/60 sec. @ f8
ISO 800

Thanks for looking gang!

May 9, 2006 - Posted by | canon, composition, Digital, DSLR, fauna, Fine Art Nature Photography, flowers, hiking, insects, landscapes, life, macro, Macro Photographer, nature, Nature Photographer, outdoors, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop, Wildlife | , , , , ,

8 Comments

  1. Nice shot. I like the way the bugs legs are similar in circumfrence and shape to the tiny branches of the plant. I wish I could see it bigger.

    Comment by Justin | May 9, 2006

  2. So elegant. As always, I love it.

    Comment by Charlotte | May 9, 2006

  3. This is definitely an “in their world” view and I love it. It really draws me in.

    Comment by luminouslens | May 9, 2006

  4. i hate the wind when shooting macro! Just the slightest of slight breezes causes a massive movement through the viewfinder.

    Comment by tuan | May 10, 2006

  5. An impressive amount of detail for shooting at 800. I’m going to have to start bumping-up my ISO’s for macro work. These Assassin Bugs are fun to photograph. They have an “out-of-this-world” look to them.
    Also Michael, thank you very much for your compliments on my image of the tulips. I consider that quite an honor considering the high quality of your work displayed on your blog. Very impressive photography.

    Thanks!

    Comment by PhotoJim | May 10, 2006

  6. I love these assassin bugs; they’re so strange. What are you using for an off-camera cord? Does somebody make an extension for the Canon off-shoe cord? I’ve only seen them 2 feet long.

    Comment by Paul | May 10, 2006

  7. Thanks everyone!

    Paul, I have the Canon cord for shooting off camera, and that “3ft” was a rough estimate.
    Stretched, it might be 2.50ft, or maybe 3ft, … I don’t know really.
    Just guessing! :)

    I do wish that Canon would make one a bit longer.
    For all that I know, they just might have one somewhere, and if so, I would like to know. I would surely buy one!!

    Thanks again!

    Comment by MBrown | May 10, 2006

  8. Very nice bug shot.

    Comment by John | May 11, 2006


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

  • Meta

