"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

A Photographic Tool That Really Works? It’s Your Own Body!

© 2005 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.

Shooting with a shallow DOF is my style of shooting that I enjoy, as you all well know.
You can easily paint with your lens, selectively leaving areas within that frame a total or soft blur, while selectively having others areas with more details showing.
One thing that I have noticed while out shooting with other photographers, is that many will get down at ground level to try some shallow DOF type shooting, … but then, that’s it!
They will pretty much shoot from that one spot. What they see is what they get!
Nobody moves their body very much while shooting, and it is something that can be very effective while shooting this style of photography.
Ever so slight movements to or away from your subject while shooting shallow DOF images can alter the scene dramatically. Whether it be only a few inches to or from, up or down, left or right, or maybe up to a foot or so in distance moved can really make a difference while using a shallow DOF.
Try it!

© 2005 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.

The images here were taken with the Canon 100mm macro and a 2x teleconverter.

I simply leaned my body a bit closer to the subject in the second image, and as you can see, the composition changed a bit, the soft areas changed, the lighting changed, details and textures changed, etc.
You can get an entirely different looking image in a matter of seconds just by moving your body.
Don’t let the lens always be the final and deciding factor in what you capture. You can add something to that lens! Let your body do its thing too, and you will suddenly find yourself getting different perspectives on a subject that you only had maybe one vision of to start with.

And, … you may even find some muscles that you did not know you had until they start aching!!

Gotta go.
Take care everyone!

May 4, 2006 - Posted by | abstract, art, blog, botanical, canon, composition, Digital, DSLR, Fine Art Nature Photography, flora, flowers, hiking, horticulture, landscapes, life, macro, Macro Photographer, nature, Nature Photographer, outdoors, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop | , , , , ,

17 Comments

  1. I’m sure I just look like a fish out of water when I’m on the ground LOL I tend to roll around looking for that right angle LOL

    Comment by Doris | May 4, 2006

  2. Great stuff here, as always :) Cheers!

    Comment by sil | May 4, 2006

  3. Just got my set of extension tubes for my Nikon N-50. Now if I can just get some time off from work to shoot some film. Thanks for all your tips and advice Mike.

    Happy shooting,

    -M-

    Comment by askme2flashU | May 4, 2006

  4. It’s like a treasure hunt for me to put a 500D diopter on my 70-200 f2.8 lens and leave it wide open. I couldn’t agree with you more Michael!

    Comment by Mark | May 4, 2006

  5. I agree totally. I sometimes find myself cotinuously trying to focus on a subject with no luck and a small change in my position can do the trick.

    Great shots. I like the difference between the two.

    Comment by Joy | May 4, 2006

  6. Very, very nice! You do these soooo well.

    Comment by Jill | May 4, 2006

  7. Thanks again for your amusing and useful lesson :-)

    Comment by KPK | May 5, 2006

  8. Lovely macros, really need to go out and take more and start posting them up :)

    Suby

    Comment by Suby | May 5, 2006

  9. The second macro is very nice!

    Comment by Kris | May 5, 2006

  10. Great commentary and right on target. I’ve used a ball head for some time now and have found that you can change the distance from the subject by several inches by flipping it around. Much more flexibility than a more traditional head. I love these two images – the both have a strong “impressionist” feel… which I really love. As always, well done!

    Comment by alan | May 5, 2006

  11. Another wonderful lesson to keep in mind when we’re out shooting! Both photos are beautiful, but the second one is just that extra step forward better!

    Comment by Micki | May 5, 2006

  12. Fantastic! Excellent advice. Such small areas really do change with the slightest variation in point of view and angle.

    Comment by jasonspix | May 5, 2006

  13. Another amazing shot and lesson! Thanks!

    Comment by RensNL | May 6, 2006

  14. Mike, it impresses me that you are able to achieve in-camera through simple but often unorthodox awareness, the exact same thing that other people add to their images in post-processing via artistic effects!

    Comment by geoffs | May 6, 2006

  15. I gotta say, your shots are always just beautiful. Stunning, from any angle or perspective. You have a gift. Thank you for sharing your tips and pointers with us. I am glad to see you still posting and visiting…

    Comment by Solaria | May 7, 2006

  16. What wonderful photographs! A friend just told me about your site. I do appreciate that you share your approaches – I’m going to have to give them a try. Thanks.

    Comment by Pam | May 7, 2006

  17. Nice colour abstracts–>

    Comment by John | May 8, 2006


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

  • Meta

