"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

How To Get Something From Nothing In Macro Photography!

© 2005 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.

Getting something from nothing can be very easy, if you simply apply some techniques that I have talked about since the first day of this blog.
Oh now, … there are times where you can work a subject to death with this certain technique and still come away with something to feed that trash can, but it will give you more of a fighting chance to get a few keepers for your files.
So, as I have said many times before, “shoot wide open” to start with!

In this shot, I was crawling around on the ground and in a area where there were a few bare spots in the grass.
I noticed this spent bloom sitting out and away from the other grasses.
My first shot was at a setting I still had from another shot I was attempting, a setting of f8.
There was absolutely nothing about that shot that appealed to me, as the grasses in the background were to much in focus and that spent bloom up front pretty much blended in.
Shooting this at f2.8 allowed me to get that spent bloom with some details and throwing the colorful fall grasses in the background into a softer blur.

As I have said before, that so many times in the world of macro photography I have heard individuals preaching about details, and there is absolutely nothing wrong with that and is something that should be learned. But, the other end of macro should be learned also, and is a area of macro photography that I personally prefer.
Try shooting wide open first, “then make your adjustments for more detail” if needed.
This scene here was downright ugly to the eye, until viewed through the lens that was set wide open!
Shooting wide open also allows greater flexibility with faster shutter speeds, a lower ISO setting if you prefer, and you will not need a tripod on many of your shots.
Just make sure (and I feel that this is very important), that if you shoot wide open, determine which is the most important part of your subject that you would like to have in focus (selective focusing), then simply let the rest fall into place.

I will say this, that I honestly feel that shooting wide open “will always” give you a much greater chance to capture something from nothing in the world of macro!
Just try it!

Thanks for looking everyone!

*

“Macro Art In Nature” – Website

March 2, 2006 - Posted by | abstract, art, blog, botanical, canon, composition, Digital, DSLR, Fine Art Nature Photography, flora, flowers, hiking, horticulture, landscapes, life, macro, Macro Photographer, nature, Nature Photographer, outdoors, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop | , , , , ,

12 Comments

  1. Your image is much more than “something”! It’s beautiful. Thanks again for your repeated explanation of your technique.

    Comment by KPK | March 3, 2006

  2. What a great shot. You have such a keen eye. Thanks for sharing and inspiring.

    Comment by askme2flashU | March 3, 2006

  3. Great and inpspiring lesson again. I’ll use the inspiration today.

    Comment by Micki | March 3, 2006

  4. Thanks Mike, I understand your concept more clearly now. Sometimes some of my attempts have been like beating a dead horse. I think I’ll try posting one today. ;)

    Comment by Joy | March 3, 2006

  5. I have nothing to say…. everithing is said from the ones before and the ones after me!….

    Comment by lino from Oz | March 3, 2006

  6. I’m looking forward to trying some of your techniques.

    Comment by Paul | March 3, 2006

  7. I really like your background – reminds me of a colourwash done with watercolours….

    Comment by Jeannie | March 3, 2006

  8. Wonderful shot and explanation.

    Also thanks for you feedback on lenses. I was convinced that Canon’s were the only way to go and that buying the “others” would be throwing away money.

    You are the master and I am the grasshopper. :)

    Comment by Marc | March 3, 2006

  9. The background is just beautiful! Looks like a painting. Nice job.

    Comment by Jill | March 3, 2006

  10. Very effective image using a simple subject. This almost looks as though it is a painting.

    Comment by david | March 3, 2006

  11. Beautiful, soft colour palette… and the blurred diagonals set this up really nicely

    Comment by Andrew | March 3, 2006

  12. I like the simplicity. Very lovely.

    Comment by therese | March 9, 2006


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

  • Meta

