"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

Nature’s Dragonflies, And Understanding Them!

© 2005 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.

First of all, I am certainly no expert with dragonflies! I do read about certain subjects that I would like to persue, and simply try to understand them and how they may act or react out in nature in my presence. Makes getting some appealing images of them that much easier!

There are many subjects in the insect world that do not get around that well when they are wet.
Soon after the sprinklers went off one morning in the garden, coupled with a heavy downpour of rain that the weatherman swore we would not get, I decided to grab the camera and head outside to see what I could find.
Sitting among the beautiful “baptisia” blooms was a Taper-tailed Darner – (Gomphaeschna antilope) dragonfly.
He sat there, never moving as I photographed him using available light.
A couple of hours later after the air dryed, he was off.
There are many insects that will allow you to get extremely close to them because of the morning dew or rain that may be on their bodies, so grab those cameras early in the morning or right after a good soaking rain, … and have yourself some fun.
Easy shooting!

This little guy and other dragonflies often will return to the same perch, time and time again. That is one of the benefits of learning something about them.
Some will return to the same perch after flying off, some will remain low to the ground, some like it in the bushes, some like it over the water on the same perch, and some simply fly all over the place!
This dragonfly is a Blue Dasher Dragonfly – “Pachydiplax longipennis”, sitting on a perch that I had placed at the back porch/patio.
Almost every single day and especially when it was sunny, one of these little beauties would be there.
My youngest son has grown to love them, and often times will sneak a lens that suits his needs just to have a bit of fun with them. He has become quite a accomplished little photographer, and yes, he has studied these little guy’s behavior as well.

They are plentiful every season, so this year, learn something about them and what type of environment they prefer, and have a bit of fun with them!

Thanks for looking gang!

“Macro Art In Nature” – Website

February 20, 2006 - Posted by | abstract, art, blog, botanical, canon, composition, Digital, dragonflies, dragonfly, DSLR, fauna, Fine Art Nature Photography, flora, flowers, hiking, horticulture, insects, landscapes, life, macro, Macro Photographer, nature, Nature Photographer, odonata, outdoors, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop, Wildlife | , , , , ,

22 Comments

  1. Brilliant dragonfly shots Michael. I like the detail on the second image – the red on the face looks great! These guys are my fav photo subject..cheers

    Comment by David Kleinert | February 20, 2006

  2. The dragonflies are beautiful. I’m inspired. If the ice ever melts in Rhode Island, I’m going to look for some.

    Comment by Donna Hughes | February 20, 2006

  3. Fantastic images Mike! Really amazing to see their detailed features.

    Comment by Joy | February 20, 2006

  4. Well Michael…You certainly opened my eyes to new things.
    Yesterday with the Slide Box and today about Dragonfly. I’m 76 years Young and I’m till learning. Very interesting about Dragonflys and your shots are incredible.
    Your son could not wish a better teacher.

    Comment by lino from oz | February 20, 2006

  5. wow i never knew there’s so much knowledge to taking photographs of insects. you are very talented.

    Comment by ighopper | February 20, 2006

  6. Amazingly beautiful photos! The details are great.

    Comment by KPK | February 21, 2006

  7. Wonderfull dragonflys in action. The composition and the colours are very good as usual in tour Pictures.

    Comment by Pierre | February 21, 2006

  8. I’m a sucker for this kind of photography, although I’ll never be able to do it myself. But with photos like these to enjoy I’ll learn to live with it. Excellent shots!

    Comment by peter | February 21, 2006

  9. Thanks for the tips, our yard is full of dragonflies all summer long. If I’m out on the deck watching the boys in their little pool, one will land over and over on my toe. Thought I was special…now I’ve learned otherwise. Still, can’t wait to try to shoot some of these beautiful critters myself, now that I know some of their habits. You are an inspiration.

    Comment by Micki | February 21, 2006

  10. Excellent Micheal some wonderful shots here.. I’m not sure which is my fave…
    and some good advice.. i always shoot dragons first thing … just as sun is coming up.. because like all insects and reptiles they need the sun to warm… and they sit still for me then :)

    Comment by Leisa | February 21, 2006

  11. Knocked off my feet, oh wow

    Comment by Lorraine | February 21, 2006

  12. Entrancing. Absolutely stunning. Especially the one with the purple flower. Delightfully uplifting on this dreary February day here in Ontario, Canada!

    Comment by Randa | February 21, 2006

  13. the detail of the wings or incredible… very very nice!

    Comment by Brett Admire | February 21, 2006

  14. The second shot is beyond good. Man, how did you do that? Just fabulous.

    Comment by Monterey John | February 21, 2006

  15. Thanks gang!

    David, … they most certainly can become a favorite subject real easy huh?

    Hope that ice melts soon Donna!

    Lino, … 76 years? You still got a bunch of frames coming to you yet buddy! :)

    Peter, … you can easily get shots such as these.
    Some dragons are simply easier to shoot than others, and discovering which ones that will allow that to happen is the real trick!

    Micki, … you must have some sweet toes or something! LoL! :)

    Thanks again to everyone. Appreciate it!

    Comment by MBrown | February 21, 2006

  16. I enjoy reading your explanations. I had no idea it was easier to photograph things like this when the dew is still on the ground. I really loved the top photo. It’s perfect in composition and exposure and it’s really just beautiful to look at.

    Comment by ahaworth | February 21, 2006

  17. Jewel like macro shots, very good.

    Comment by John | February 21, 2006

  18. Great shots! It reminded me of the times when I was a kid and spend all afternoon trying to catch them. Hopefully during the summer I’ll find some and take pictures too. They look amazing! :)

    Comment by vanessa | February 21, 2006

  19. Another great photo. As always I appreciate the explanation. Early in the morning is good because of temperature also. The insects don’t move as quickly in the cold.

    One of my favorite professors at Clemson was Dr. Skelton who taught Entomology, the study of insects.

    I’m equally impressed by your knowledge of plants and insects.

    Comment by Marc | February 21, 2006

  20. I’m always learning something new when I come here! I’ve never had any luck with photographing dragonflies. They’re so quick to get away! Glad I read this post because I do enjoy trying to get bug pics.

    Comment by lotus | February 21, 2006

  21. Hi! Jules here. I had to change my blog because of some psycho that was stalking me so just wanted to let you know that I will still be poppin in under an assumed name to see your fabulous pics! Love the dragonfly!

    Comment by Some Random Girl | February 24, 2006

  22. Fantastic depth of field in this shot! Very nicely done.

    Comment by Ian | February 27, 2006


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

  • Meta

