"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

” A Final Gift “

“A Final Gift”
(Acorn)
© 2005 – Michael Brown
* Copying/downloading of images is prohibited.

wp05acorn05wp.jpg

I decided that it was time to dismantle the area of the yard that was a magical place to be when my sons were young.
I was somewhat surprised at the feelings that ran through me as I started to take apart that old sandbox that they loved playing in.
Leveling and digging out the area, I found many little toys that had found their way beneath the sand, not to be seen again for many years. There were little toy cars, toy soldiers, airplanes, those little “Happy Meal” toys that some kids loved.
So many memories came back to me as I sat in the sand and looking at all of those little hidden treasures, and I decided to get the camera to take some shots of them as they were laying in the sand.
I took just a few shots, then put those little treasures in a bucket to save for the boys to look at when they got home from school.
I sat the bucket to one side and was fixing to get back to work when I noticed this little acorn off to the side of the sandbox.
I got down eye level with it to take a look, and decided to try some shots of it.
It was like I was looking at one final gift, from a area that gave so much.

My sons are 13 and 15 years old now, and I pulled out those other treasures of them playing in that sandbox that I had on film today.
Damn, ……. what a great day it turned out to be!

Michael Brown

* Originally posted at NatureScapes.Net, November 2005.

“Macro Art In Nature”

**

December 17, 2005 - Posted by | abstract, art, blog, botanical, canon, composition, Digital, DSLR, Fine Art Nature Photography, flora, flowers, hiking, horticulture, landscapes, life, macro, Macro Photographer, nature, Nature Photographer, outdoors, paintings, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop, Wildlife, wordpress | , , , , ,

12 Comments

  1. What an awesomely sentimental post today! Great picture too!

    You know your boys are only 1 year each older then mine!

    When my boys where little, they would go to my mother in laws house and dig in the same places their daddy and uncle did. They where always finding lost or left behind toys and digging tools ( mostly grandma’s spoons LOL) They loved seeing the things their daddy and Uncle played with!

    Comment by Doris | December 17, 2005

  2. so sweet. Moving on is so bittersweet. Those memories sometimes fade but the photo’s last forever!

    Comment by Jules | December 18, 2005

  3. I love this photo. The simplicity, the lovely background (it looks like pine trees swaying), the beautiful black and white tones, the composition — just perfect!

    Comment by Judith Polakoff | December 18, 2005

  4. First i say my thanks for visiting my blog and leaving that beautiful comments, second i want to appreciate your art and your interest in nature because i have a same interest, generally there isn’t anything more inspiring than nature. Third, this photo is too nice and perfect like priors.

    Comment by Mahdiyar | December 18, 2005

  5. Great image to remember happy times with. I suspect your children used to find buried treasure in that sandbox, too.

    Comment by Paul | December 19, 2005

  6. You have some awesome work in here, I enjoyed checking out your site. Also thanks for visiting my blog and your positive feedback.

    Comment by noushin | December 19, 2005

  7. nice bw shot…i like the background and great dof…beautiful;-)

    Comment by outdoorexposure | December 19, 2005

  8. Observation, observation and more observation; where the power of creative photography lies. I’m sure you went through several tidal cycles of emotions that day…must have been quite a ride.

    As for the photo, I think the critical thing that makes it stand out is the eye-level approach and of course B&W is THE choice here.

    Comment by Ali | December 19, 2005

  9. Thanks everyone!
    It certainly was one of those special days!!

    Comment by MBrown | December 19, 2005

  10. Hi Michael….found this link via 21 Favorite Photos. Have to say this one brought me to tears. Your narration along with this beautifully captured image is incredibly touching and full of the wonder of passing days combined with the seed of tomorrow. Bravo.

    Comment by Diane - Daily Walks | May 25, 2007

  11. I found this post via Jim Goldstein’s photo project. This is a terrific photo of course, but an even more poignant story. Thanks for sharing it!

    Comment by laanba | May 26, 2007

  12. Great photo! Please consider submitting one or two of you excellent images to http://www.earthshots.org
    :)

    Comment by Earth Shots | May 30, 2007


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

  • Meta

