"Macro Art In Nature"

Explorations in the artistic world of macro photography.

Box Elderon – “In Their World” series.

This is a shot from my “In Their World” series, showing a insect hopefully in a more artistic light instead of the normal “fully detailed/documentary” type shots of them that you usually see in macro photography.
I normally shoot with the lens set wide open, looking for abstracts, neat compositions, and always the light!
It is those rare times that a insect will appear right where those wonderful abstract patterns and unreal lighting are happening, and you just have to be ready for it.
It’s just a insect, in their world, a dream world that is so beautiful to see up close.

I sometimes wonder if they are able to think of their world as something beautiful, .. or

“Box Elderon Bug”

“Macro Art In Nature”

December 12, 2005 - Posted by | art, blog, canon, composition, Digital, DSLR, fauna, Fine Art Nature Photography, flora, flowers, hiking, horticulture, insects, landscapes, life, macro, Macro Photographer, nature, Nature Photographer, outdoors, Photo Blog, photoblog, photography, photoshop, Wildlife | , , , , ,

11 Comments

  1. What a wonderful shot,love it. You have an eye for details. Really beautiful.

    Comment by Angela | December 12, 2005

  2. A very expressive and lovely shot, Mike.

    There seems to be two major avenues that macro photographers seem to take in their imagery. They can strive for maximal detail – the documentation track. Or, they can strive for abstraction, the artistic or environmental track. Sometimes the two become one.

    Interestingly, I see the exact same thing occurring among avian photographers. One of the best examples of an avian photographer that likes to meld art with his images of birds is Ganesh H Shankar. He has been posting on NPN and I rate his shots among the loveliest I’ve seen. While he doesn’t have many photos available for viewing on NPN right now, some of his stuff can be seen at Shankar Photo Portfolio and at his currently posted avian photos.

    As for myself, I like the documentary shots but I like the environmental/artistic shots even more. My expertise in the craft isn’t yet up to speed to achieve full success in the latter yet.

    Comment by geoffs | December 12, 2005

  3. Hi Geoff!

    Yes, I have seen Shankar’s work, and he does seem to “go for the different” in his work, or, his art!
    His “Fumes Of The Butterfly” is uniquely different in his portfolio. Some of his avian shots are hitting on the “different” also, which is something that I particularly like seeing. (Avian photography does need something different for a change!) hehehe!!!

    And I have seen your work too Geoff. You are just fine dude!
    I just think that with nature photography, things need to get a bit more expressive, more emotional, to hit on one’s senses, to awake those senses, … and I guess this is what I am trying with my work.
    Hell, …. I just like being different anyway!

    Am I making any sense at all? hehe!!
    It is the middle of the day, and I can’t seem to wake up for nothing at all.
    This “trying to put a website together” is putting some overtime on what braincells I have left, and being married with children, … it ain’t many left!

    I love those detailed documentary type shots that you mentioned. Tough to achieve and do it well, but when done well, there are those that you could talk about forever.
    Environmental artistic shots are not easy for me to achieve at all for some reason.
    There are so many things that need to come into play together, and usually one of those is on a vacation of sorts. I have only one in my portfolio that pleases me really!

    And, ……. I could have swore that you had a blog somewhere. Or, I’m thinking of someone else!

    Again Geoff, thanks for visiting buddy!
    Glad you liked the pic!!

    Comment by MBrown | December 12, 2005

  4. Thanks Angela, and I can tell that I need to look at your entire portfolio at your site!
    Be there shortly!!!

    Comment by MBrown | December 12, 2005

  5. Nice focus on the bug!

    Comment by Jill | December 12, 2005

  6. Thanks for the encouragement on my own photography, Mike. It’s much appreciated and while I agree that I have come up with some very fine shots, my stinker:keeper ratio is way too high for my liking. Digital seems to make it easier to keep that ratio high. With film I considered each shot much more before pressing the shutter release.

    You hit on a point that is near and dear to my own heart – namely, the need to have an image connect with the viewer’s emotions and senses. I find that all too often on these photography websites that images posted get critiqued according to standards that are way too technical. In other words, within our own ranks we are overly critical and often missing the point of the image. OTOH, I find that non-photographers tend to evaluate my photos much more according to the pathos elicited from within themselves by the image I’ve captured. I feel like my efforts have been a success when that has happened. At that point the technical shortcomings of the photo become secondary for me.

    I hope I’ve made some sense…

    BTW, it wasn’t me that had the blog. However, I will be getting my website up and running over the holidays…

    Comment by geoffs | December 13, 2005

  7. Thanks Jill! Appreciate all comments!!

    Comment by MBrown | December 13, 2005

  8. Geoff, you made sense alright!
    Here lately, and everywhere I go or not matter what I read, seems like everyone is hung up on the technicals and not the overall image.

    (I need to stop answering your stuff late at night and when I’m getting sleepy!)
    lol!

    Maybe that would be a good question/discussion on NSN. I think that they could use it during this time of year when people are a tad on the “stir crazy” side, ….. sort of like me!!

    Comment by MBrown | December 13, 2005

  9. Your “artistic” take on this insect produced a wonderful result. This is a very strong image.

    Comment by Jarrett | December 14, 2005

  10. Thanks Jarrett!
    Thanks for dropping by and the wonderful comment.
    Really appreciate it!!

    Comment by MBrown | December 14, 2005

  11. This is great the way you’ve isolated the bug from the background. I know how hard these little guys can be to capture, especially with such shallow depth of field, so bonus points for that!

    Comment by Stephen | December 20, 2005


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

  • Meta

